home >  categories >  planners >  shawn schindler events >  reviews

Shawn Schindler Events

Services:

Planners

Spectacular ~ Timeless ~ Simple Elegance
Phone: 919-417-0460 
916 Elbridge Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
43 Total Reviews
 
annie
Wedding: 10/4/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda from Your Special Day/Shawn Schindler Events was a pleasure to work with throughout the wedding planning process. I had a lot of questions about logistics and vendors and Amanda was always quick to answer any questions and assuage any concerns. I was able to fully enjoy myself the day of the wedding knowing that everything would go according to our well-laid plans. If you're on the fence about hiring a wedding planner, I'd say "do it!". It was completely worth it and I'd wholeheartedly recommend Shawn Schindler Events.
Jaclyn
Wedding: 6/27/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn Schindler is the best coordinator in the business. She made sure that every detail of my wedding day went smoothly. Her advice & support through out the wedding planning process ensured that I did not have to worry about a thing on or before my special day. Her number one priority is making sure the bride is happy and free to fully enjoy her wedding day and Shawn never fails to accomplish this task.
Allison
Wedding: 6/14/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda and Alex were an absolutely amazing team for our wedding on Saturday June 14, 2014 at Duke Gardens. Not only did they provide excellent day of service, Amanda's pre planning and advice leading up to the big deal was more than exceptional. At our rehearsal, Amanda and Alex took charge, explained how everyone should line up for the wedding and made sure that everyone understood their roles. On the day of, the dynamic duo arrived at Duke Gardens early to ensure all vendors and set up were going smoothly. They maintained the (large) wedding party and family in a kind and "stern" way to make sure everyone was where they needed to be and on time. The flow of the actualy reception was flawless. Everything went according to plan (I think), and if something went wrong, I have no idea because they just made everything happen! I also received positive reviews from guests that attended the wedding that Amanda and Alex were great and telling the guests when to head inside for important moments like the dances and toasts, as well as when their tables were released for the buffet. They felt that the large wedding was "corralled" in a politie but firm way, an art that some wedding planners do not have. I highly suggest Amanda and Alex to anyone who is in need of a wedding planner. They will NOT disappoint!
Jessica
Wedding: 5/24/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn and the rest of the team at Your Special Day were fabulous! The wedding day was perfect! Shawn kept everything in order and made sure that we didn't worry about anything on the wedding day. It was such a blessing to have her coordination skills. I'm sure I would have been a mess on the wedding day without her behind the scenes handiwork. Shawn also provided numerous vendor recommendations that were amazing. Getting really good vendor recommendations REALLY helps a lot in the whole wedding planning process. We knew absolutely nothing about who to pick so we were just going off of whatever we could find on the internet. I am confident that our wedding day wouldn't have been the same without her wonderful references. We found that some "wedding" vendors aren't very pleasant to work with, but everyone Shawn recommended exceeded all expectations. As I look back on the craziness of planning a wedding, I think hiring Your Special Day was one of the best decisions we made!
Kate
Wedding: 5/17/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We worked with Shawn for about a year when planning our wedding. We found her to be professional, responsive and a pleasure to work with. She made my life a million times easier and helped me in so many ways during my planning and on the wedding day. She ran the rehearsal and made sure that everyone knew exactly what they were supposed to do. We couldn't have done it without her. Thanks for making our wedding day perfect!!! Most highly recommend!!!
Maria
Wedding: 4/26/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
They provided amazing services for my wedding! Everyone was very nice and enthusiastic about the wedding planning process. I loved their energy and how smooth the wedding flowed! Everything about my wedding was perfect and I owe it all to them and their hard work to make it happen!
Private User
Wedding: 4/19/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn, We wanted to thank you for making our wedding truly amazing in every way. Your expertise, responsiveness, attention to detail, and organization made planning a wedding a breeze! You gave us the wedding of our dreams and we will be forever grateful! We love you! ~Jason and Shelly Shawn, Greg and I are so appreciative of your your guidance, advice, and support with selecting the best vendors for BOTH our daughters' weddings. We feel so blessed to have had all your hard work put into planning and organizing them. They were both truly fabulous weddings! Thank you so much for everything! ~Greg...
Ann
Wedding: 10/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
It’s been said that people come into your life for a reason and sometimes they change it for the better. That was surely the case for us when we were fortunate enough to meet Shawn. She is uniquely gifted with the ability to bring a sense of calm and control to any situation. Her sweet smile put us at ease when we first met as she immediately gave us the feeling that we were talking with an old friend. Her outstanding reputation and numerous accolades proceeded our meeting and she exceeded all of our expectations. Her many years of experience have given her extensive knowledge of vendors in the area which proved to be a big time saver for us. We trusted her experience and had complete confidence in her advice. We worked with Shawn for more than a year and we knew our vision for the wedding day would become reality due to her masterful orchestration. During the process she scheduled and attended meetings with us with all vendors. The day of the wedding she managed the transportation services; functionality of the ceremony ; entertainment during cocktail hour; band for the reception; delivery & set up of tables, chairs, linens, food service & florals; facilitated arrangements for requested personal touches during the ceremony & reception; served as liaison with the reception venue; and along with her fabulous team, managed any issues that presented with 400 guests. We were so thankful for many extra and unexpected things she did for us. As the mother of the bride I was able to approach the year of planning and the weekend of the wedding as a time of making many happy memories with my daughter, knowing that Shawn was taking care of all the details. She is the consummate professional who can be trusted to manage any situation in the best possible way. We appreciated her professionalism, competence, experience, initiative, and sound judgment. However, the most remarkable thing about her is the genuine joy she shares with you for this most cherished occasion.
Jamie
Wedding: 8/3/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
At first I was not convinced that I needed a wedding planner. I soon found out that I was very wrong about that. I found myself being consumed with details and did not know where to turn or how to proceed. After one too many sleepless nights, I decided to get a wedding day of coordinator. It turned out to be one of the best decisions that I made concerning the wedding. After talking to Shawn, my mind was instantly put at ease. Shawn just had a way of making me feel like everything was going to be OK and that she had everything under control. My peace of mind alone was worth what she cost. I remember sleeping for the first time in days after signing the contract. A wedding is not something that just happens on its own and having someone who knows what to do and when to do it is so much of a help. My goal for my daughters wedding was that I wanted to enjoy the day and not be distracted with details. Hiring Shawn allowed that very thing to happen. I was able to sit back and relax, knowing that I was not in control and that the most important day in my daughters life was in the hands of a professional. I was able to do what Mothers are supposed to do and that was be there for my daughter and love on her. I honestly don't think I could have handled that day without Shawn. On the day of the wedding, Shawn helped in so many ways and was there to make everything run smoothly. I did not have to worry about anything. She sewed a button on my dress, had someone run to Wal-Mart at the last minute and purchase a garter as we lost my daughters somehow, cut the rather large cake as I had no idea how to do so, and even helped to clean up at the end of the night. My only regret is that I did not immediately hire Shawn. By the time I made the phone call, I had already chosen and paid for the venue. I know that if I would have talked to Shawn about this important decision that we would have saved money in the long run. Thanks Shawn for all of your help!
K
Wedding: 5/11/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Emily Bauer was an absolute pleasure to work with! She was the perfect assistant. She fixed the mother of the bride's dress after it ripped, removed black marker from a flower girls dress, and kept the bride calm, cool and collected during the entire event. It was the best value of any of the wedding services and we are so incredibly grateful that we had the opportunity to work with her. After meeting her for just a few minutes I felt like she was one of my closest friends and someone that understood and knew exactly what to do and make everything run seamlessly.
Megan
Wedding: 5/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I have known Shawn for over 10 years now, and she is one of the best in this business! We had some unforeseen circumstances that required us to change our wedding date from August to May, which meant that we went from having about 8 months left to only 4 months to plan almost the entire wedding. Even though she was very busy in May, she worked with us to find a day that worked, and she made everything happen for our event. I'm not a very visual person, so it was hard for me to vocalize how I pictured my wedding day. Shawn helped put everything together in such a beautiful way; I look back on our day and say that I would not have changed one thing about it. She knew exactly what we wanted, even when we really didn't! The day of the wedding was so seamless and stress-free for me. I know that there were mishaps and things that went awry, but never once was I worried at all about any of it. Shawn and her team made sure that everything was taken care of and that the stress was never deferred on me or anyone in my family or wedding party. We did not have to coordinate vendors, check on food, worry about timing, etc. Shawn directed everyone and had everything under control. That day-of presence alone was worth the price of her services. If you are looking for a planner for your special day, definitely go with Shawn and Your Special Day! You will not be disappointed.
Glenn & Kaye
Wedding: 5/4/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda did a great job and after she entered the picture, we no longer worried about the logistics associated with the reception at Cypress Manor. She was a pleasure to work with and handled all the details to our satisfaction. We didn't have to contact any of the vendors providing services - she did it all! I would recommend her to anyone! Glenn & Kaye Rains Father and Mother of the Bride
Danielle
Wedding: 4/27/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn, no words can express how wonderful you are. You are a true pro at what you do and Jerry and I couldn't have asked for a better wedding planner. So many of our guests said "wow, this is the smoothest wedding I've ever been to." Thank you for making things happen and our guests feel so welcomed and comfortable. You made everything come together with ease and we are forever grateful to you for such a fabulous wedding execution. Thank you!
Sherena
Wedding: 3/2/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn Schindler, lead consultant for Your Special Day Weddings & Special Events executed a perfect fairy tale wedding on March 2, 2013. She is a true professional and any question I threw her way she was able to answer with a smile. Shawn and her assistant valued my personal wedding items & decor like it was their own and that was a big deal for my family and I. While we were enjoying the wedding she was making sure all of my personal belongings were packed up & put away. When it was time to leave everything was in place & not a single item was missing. Shawn has also built relationships with many other outstanding vendors. This will ensure you a flawless event.
Courtney
Wedding: 10/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Having a wedding planner was one of the best decisions I made after saying " I Do"! Shawn and her team were so professional and organized. I specifically remember our first meeting where Shawn wanted to know about our story, how we met and what we enjoyed. She was interested in us as a couple. I loved how she took my vision and gave me incredible ideas to truly make our day special! We chose Shawn because of her personality, professionalism, and her desire to capitalize on the details. She had wonderful relationships with other venders and was honest with us along the way. The wedding day was all we dreamed it would be and more. I was not at all stressed the day of the wedding because I trusted in the team! Shawn was calm and able to make things happen. She was there to fix the dress and fix my hair when it started coming down on the dance floor:)! It was such a joy working with a talented woman and...
Maureen
Wedding: 6/22/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
In a word, Shawn was fabulous! I am a retired Army officer, I know how to plan and execute large operations. However, that being said I have never planned a wedding for my only daughter! Quite honestly, I did not expect the range on emotions during this process. It became apparent to me in January (the wedding was in June) that I needed some help planning the finer details. I did a Google search and fortunately for me I found Shawn. It was one review in particular that stuck me, basically a mom wrote that she enjoyed her daughter's wedding day because Shawn took care of everything. When we met Shawn the bridesmaid's gowns had not been ordered. Shawn looked at my daughter and said, "This concerns me, you must get them ordered immediately!" The dresses were ordered the next day! We went over the list of vendors that we had already selected and Shawn gave a thumbs up on each one, again we were lucky to have made some good selections. Shawn gave me a list of vendors for those items we hadn't selected, it was very helpful. The florist, Expressions of Love was great! Shawn met us to select the linens for the reception. We had made some selections before she arrived. She said, "Those look nice do you mind if I pull a couple other items?" She came back with some tablecloths I would never have selected, again the right choice. As we left my daughter said, "Mom, what would it have looked like if Shawn hadn't helped us?" I told her it would have looked fine, now it would look stunning! I anticipated that there might be an issue with my daughter's hair, so I arranged with Shawn the day before the wedding for a hair dresser to be at the house. When she came home from getting her hair done, she was in tears. A call to Shawn and the hair dresser arrived earlier at the house! When my daughter left the house her hair looked great! My husband and I arrived at the reception site The Cotton Room about 45 minutes prior to the start of the reception. When we walked in Shawn came up to us and walked us all around. I know it was a busy time for her, but she took the time. It was so nice to walk around and see all of the little touches, honestly one of the best memories of the day. I know this is a bit long, but you need to understand what a truly wonderful job Shawn did. The day of the wedding I did not worry about a thing, because I knew Shawn would deal with any and all issues that came along. Shawn in a true professional! If you are looking for a wedding or event planner, look no further, call Shawn, you will not be disappointed. My brother-in-law said, "I've been to 45 weddings, this was the best one ever!" It was because of Shawn that my daughter's wedding is such a wonderful memory!!!
Anonymous
Wedding: 6/15/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn and her team are excellent. As mother of the bride, I wanted to enjoy the whole wedding process and not be stressed out. Shawn guided us through everything. My daughter's wedding was beautiful and so much fun. We had so many people tell us it was the best wedding they had ever attended! I'm so thankful for Shawn because I got to celebrate with everyone and didn't have to worry because she made sure everything ran smoothly. Worth every penny!
Samantha
Wedding: 6/15/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn and her team were fabulous! I am so glad that we had her to keep track. My wedding day and the months leading up to it were stress-free and very few Brides can say that. Her attention to detail and experience are priceless and helped to create a beautiful, unique and personal wedding that both my husband and I will never forget. My wedding was an absolute blast and I've had so many people comment on how great of a time they had at the wedding. Without Shawn there is no question my wedding would be entirely different, she steered me in the direction of other vendors (caterer, photographer, cakes, etc.) who suited our style perfectly and provided wonderful service. She offered advice on where you can save and where not to skimp. To any future bride you hire Shawn and her team so you don't have to remember the details and can get lost in the moment. Just as you hire a photographer so you can remember those details that you lost in the moment.
Anonymous
Wedding: 6/12/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My name is Anna and I recently married my best friend on June 12, 2012. I thought it would be overwhelming to plan a wedding in North Carolina, since my fiance and I lived in Southwest Florida. I searched online for local wedding planners in Emerald Isle, where we were planning the event, but the planner I read wonderful reviews on wouldn't even return my phone calls! Shawn's website, Your Special Day, kept coming up in my search engine, so I decided to send an email request for more information. Was I surprised when I not only received a response, but Shawn Schindler herself personally called me to discuss details and budgeting! Shawn was able to design a wedding in my budget (which I never thought would be possible), that was much more than I could have imagined on my own! On top of that, she took time out of her busy schedule to travel from Raleigh to Emerald Isle (approx 3 hr trip) over Easter weekend to meet with my mother and I and in-laws to personally get an overview of the wedding site and all plans thus far! Shawn arrived to our wedding weekend with her assistant Leigh Ann (sorry for any spelling errors), and together they organized the mischevious groomsmen, kept a pregnant bridesmaid and ailing guests comfortable, AND dealt with a very stressed-out bride! I almost wish I could do the whole thing over again, that's how wonderful it was! If any of you have any questions or concerns about Shawn Schindler or her services, just ask any of the brides who used her. I'm sure they will tell you the same thing I am - Your Special Day was the best wedding decision I made (apart from choosing an amazing husband of course;))!
Dtannen470
Wedding: 10/29/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
A wedding what stress. Mom of the bride in New York, bride and groom in North Carolina. I was beginning to think that non of us would enjoy the day. Then I made a decision, and it was one of the best decisions I had made. I hired YSD for the day of. What a relief, Emily and Dawn did an incredible job of making sure that everything was on track and most of all that the bride was happy. I wouldn' hesitate to recommend YSD for anyone's event. Thanks girls you did an incredible job.
 
 
Find Shawn Schindler Events reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Shawn Schindler Events for Planners services.