home >  categories >  planners >  your special day weddings and special events >  reviews

Your Special Day Weddings and Special Events

Services:

Planners

Simple Elegance to Spectacular
Phone: 919-417-0460 
916 Elbridge Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
36 Total Reviews
 
Ann
Wedding: 10/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
It’s been said that people come into your life for a reason and sometimes they change it for the better. That was surely the case for us when we were fortunate enough to meet Shawn. She is uniquely gifted with the ability to bring a sense of calm and control to any situation. Her sweet smile put us at ease when we first met as she immediately gave us the feeling that we were talking with an old friend. Her outstanding reputation and numerous accolades proceeded our meeting and she exceeded all of our expectations. Her many years of experience have given her extensive knowledge of vendors in the area which proved to be a big time saver for us. We trusted her experience and had complete confidence in her advice. We worked with Shawn for more than a year and we knew our vision for the wedding day would become reality due to her masterful orchestration. During the process she scheduled and attended meetings with us with all vendors. The day of the wedding she managed the transportation services; functionality of the ceremony ; entertainment during cocktail hour; band for the reception; delivery & set up of tables, chairs, linens, food service & florals; facilitated arrangements for requested personal touches during the ceremony & reception; served as liaison with the reception venue; and along with her fabulous team, managed any issues that presented with 400 guests. We were so thankful for many extra and unexpected things she did for us. As the mother of the bride I was able to approach the year of planning and the weekend of the wedding as a time of making many happy memories with my daughter, knowing that Shawn was taking care of all the details. She is the consummate professional who can be trusted to manage any situation in the best possible way. We appreciated her professionalism, competence, experience, initiative, and sound judgment. However, the most remarkable thing about her is the genuine joy she shares with you for this most cherished occasion.
Jamie
Wedding: 8/3/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
At first I was not convinced that I needed a wedding planner. I soon found out that I was very wrong about that. I found myself being consumed with details and did not know where to turn or how to proceed. After one too many sleepless nights, I decided to get a wedding day of coordinator. It turned out to be one of the best decisions that I made concerning the wedding. After talking to Shawn, my mind was instantly put at ease. Shawn just had a way of making me feel like everything was going to be OK and that she had everything under control. My peace of mind alone was worth what she cost. I remember sleeping for the first time in days after signing the contract. A wedding is not something that just happens on its own and having someone who knows what to do and when to do it is so much of a help. My goal for my daughters wedding was that I wanted to enjoy the day and not be distracted with details. Hiring Shawn allowed that very thing to happen. I was able to sit back and relax, knowing that I was not in control and that the most important day in my daughters life was in the hands of a professional. I was able to do what Mothers are supposed to do and that was be there for my daughter and love on her. I honestly don't think I could have handled that day without Shawn. On the day of the wedding, Shawn helped in so many ways and was there to make everything run smoothly. I did not have to worry about anything. She sewed a button on my dress, had someone run to Wal-Mart at the last minute and purchase a garter as we lost my daughters somehow, cut the rather large cake as I had no idea how to do so, and even helped to clean up at the end of the night. My only regret is that I did not immediately hire Shawn. By the time I made the phone call, I had already chosen and paid for the venue. I know that if I would have talked to Shawn about this important decision that we would have saved money in the long run. Thanks Shawn for all of your help!
K
Wedding: 5/11/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Emily Bauer was an absolute pleasure to work with! She was the perfect assistant. She fixed the mother of the bride's dress after it ripped, removed black marker from a flower girls dress, and kept the bride calm, cool and collected during the entire event. It was the best value of any of the wedding services and we are so incredibly grateful that we had the opportunity to work with her. After meeting her for just a few minutes I felt like she was one of my closest friends and someone that understood and knew exactly what to do and make everything run seamlessly.
Megan
Wedding: 5/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I have known Shawn for over 10 years now, and she is one of the best in this business! We had some unforeseen circumstances that required us to change our wedding date from August to May, which meant that we went from having about 8 months left to only 4 months to plan almost the entire wedding. Even though she was very busy in May, she worked with us to find a day that worked, and she made everything happen for our event. I'm not a very visual person, so it was hard for me to vocalize how I pictured my wedding day. Shawn helped put everything together in such a beautiful way; I look back on our day and say that I would not have changed one thing about it. She knew exactly what we wanted, even when we really didn't! The day of the wedding was so seamless and stress-free for me. I know that there were mishaps and things that went awry, but never once was I worried at all about any of it. Shawn and her team made sure that everything was taken care of and that the stress was never deferred on me or anyone in my family or wedding party. We did not have to coordinate vendors, check on food, worry about timing, etc. Shawn directed everyone and had everything under control. That day-of presence alone was worth the price of her services. If you are looking for a planner for your special day, definitely go with Shawn and Your Special Day! You will not be disappointed.
Glenn & Kaye
Wedding: 5/4/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda did a great job and after she entered the picture, we no longer worried about the logistics associated with the reception at Cypress Manor. She was a pleasure to work with and handled all the details to our satisfaction. We didn't have to contact any of the vendors providing services - she did it all! I would recommend her to anyone! Glenn & Kaye Rains Father and Mother of the Bride
Danielle
Wedding: 4/27/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn, no words can express how wonderful you are. You are a true pro at what you do and Jerry and I couldn't have asked for a better wedding planner. So many of our guests said "wow, this is the smoothest wedding I've ever been to." Thank you for making things happen and our guests feel so welcomed and comfortable. You made everything come together with ease and we are forever grateful to you for such a fabulous wedding execution. Thank you!
Sherena
Wedding: 3/2/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn Schindler, lead consultant for Your Special Day Weddings & Special Events executed a perfect fairy tale wedding on March 2, 2013. She is a true professional and any question I threw her way she was able to answer with a smile. Shawn and her assistant valued my personal wedding items & decor like it was their own and that was a big deal for my family and I. While we were enjoying the wedding she was making sure all of my personal belongings were packed up & put away. When it was time to leave everything was in place & not a single item was missing. Shawn has also built relationships with many other outstanding vendors. This will ensure you a flawless event.
Courtney
Wedding: 10/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Having a wedding planner was one of the best decisions I made after saying " I Do"! Shawn and her team were so professional and organized. I specifically remember our first meeting where Shawn wanted to know about our story, how we met and what we enjoyed. She was interested in us as a couple. I loved how she took my vision and gave me incredible ideas to truly make our day special! We chose Shawn because of her personality, professionalism, and her desire to capitalize on the details. She had wonderful relationships with other venders and was honest with us along the way. The wedding day was all we dreamed it would be and more. I was not at all stressed the day of the wedding because I trusted in the team! Shawn was calm and able to make things happen. She was there to fix the dress and fix my hair when it started coming down on the dance floor:)! It was such a joy working with a talented woman and...
Maureen
Wedding: 6/22/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
In a word, Shawn was fabulous! I am a retired Army officer, I know how to plan and execute large operations. However, that being said I have never planned a wedding for my only daughter! Quite honestly, I did not expect the range on emotions during this process. It became apparent to me in January (the wedding was in June) that I needed some help planning the finer details. I did a Google search and fortunately for me I found Shawn. It was one review in particular that stuck me, basically a mom wrote that she enjoyed her daughter's wedding day because Shawn took care of everything. When we met Shawn the bridesmaid's gowns had not been ordered. Shawn looked at my daughter and said, "This concerns me, you must get them ordered immediately!" The dresses were ordered the next day! We went over the list of vendors that we had already selected and Shawn gave a thumbs up on each one, again we were lucky to have made some good selections. Shawn gave me a list of vendors for those items we hadn't selected, it was very helpful. The florist, Expressions of Love was great! Shawn met us to select the linens for the reception. We had made some selections before she arrived. She said, "Those look nice do you mind if I pull a couple other items?" She came back with some tablecloths I would never have selected, again the right choice. As we left my daughter said, "Mom, what would it have looked like if Shawn hadn't helped us?" I told her it would have looked fine, now it would look stunning! I anticipated that there might be an issue with my daughter's hair, so I arranged with Shawn the day before the wedding for a hair dresser to be at the house. When she came home from getting her hair done, she was in tears. A call to Shawn and the hair dresser arrived earlier at the house! When my daughter left the house her hair looked great! My husband and I arrived at the reception site The Cotton Room about 45 minutes prior to the start of the reception. When we walked in Shawn came up to us and walked us all around. I know it was a busy time for her, but she took the time. It was so nice to walk around and see all of the little touches, honestly one of the best memories of the day. I know this is a bit long, but you need to understand what a truly wonderful job Shawn did. The day of the wedding I did not worry about a thing, because I knew Shawn would deal with any and all issues that came along. Shawn in a true professional! If you are looking for a wedding or event planner, look no further, call Shawn, you will not be disappointed. My brother-in-law said, "I've been to 45 weddings, this was the best one ever!" It was because of Shawn that my daughter's wedding is such a wonderful memory!!!
Anonymous
Wedding: 6/15/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn and her team are excellent. As mother of the bride, I wanted to enjoy the whole wedding process and not be stressed out. Shawn guided us through everything. My daughter's wedding was beautiful and so much fun. We had so many people tell us it was the best wedding they had ever attended! I'm so thankful for Shawn because I got to celebrate with everyone and didn't have to worry because she made sure everything ran smoothly. Worth every penny!
Samantha
Wedding: 6/15/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Shawn and her team were fabulous! I am so glad that we had her to keep track. My wedding day and the months leading up to it were stress-free and very few Brides can say that. Her attention to detail and experience are priceless and helped to create a beautiful, unique and personal wedding that both my husband and I will never forget. My wedding was an absolute blast and I've had so many people comment on how great of a time they had at the wedding. Without Shawn there is no question my wedding would be entirely different, she steered me in the direction of other vendors (caterer, photographer, cakes, etc.) who suited our style perfectly and provided wonderful service. She offered advice on where you can save and where not to skimp. To any future bride you hire Shawn and her team so you don't have to remember the details and can get lost in the moment. Just as you hire a photographer so you can remember those details that you lost in the moment.
Anonymous
Wedding: 6/12/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My name is Anna and I recently married my best friend on June 12, 2012. I thought it would be overwhelming to plan a wedding in North Carolina, since my fiance and I lived in Southwest Florida. I searched online for local wedding planners in Emerald Isle, where we were planning the event, but the planner I read wonderful reviews on wouldn't even return my phone calls! Shawn's website, Your Special Day, kept coming up in my search engine, so I decided to send an email request for more information. Was I surprised when I not only received a response, but Shawn Schindler herself personally called me to discuss details and budgeting! Shawn was able to design a wedding in my budget (which I never thought would be possible), that was much more than I could have imagined on my own! On top of that, she took time out of her busy schedule to travel from Raleigh to Emerald Isle (approx 3 hr trip) over Easter weekend to meet with my mother and I and in-laws to personally get an overview of the wedding site and all plans thus far! Shawn arrived to our wedding weekend with her assistant Leigh Ann (sorry for any spelling errors), and together they organized the mischevious groomsmen, kept a pregnant bridesmaid and ailing guests comfortable, AND dealt with a very stressed-out bride! I almost wish I could do the whole thing over again, that's how wonderful it was! If any of you have any questions or concerns about Shawn Schindler or her services, just ask any of the brides who used her. I'm sure they will tell you the same thing I am - Your Special Day was the best wedding decision I made (apart from choosing an amazing husband of course;))!
Dtannen470
Wedding: 10/29/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
A wedding what stress. Mom of the bride in New York, bride and groom in North Carolina. I was beginning to think that non of us would enjoy the day. Then I made a decision, and it was one of the best decisions I had made. I hired YSD for the day of. What a relief, Emily and Dawn did an incredible job of making sure that everything was on track and most of all that the bride was happy. I wouldn' hesitate to recommend YSD for anyone's event. Thanks girls you did an incredible job.
Lauren
Wedding: 10/8/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
All I need to say is - yes, Emily at YSD is incredible. In a high pressure scenario like a wedding you want someone who is nice yet effective - Emily and Amanda were both of those things. If you are looking to get a wedding planner and are on the fence about it, don't be. I highly recommend haveing one, at least for the month of the wedding. I don't how my wedding would have gone as smoothly and be as enjoyable for myself and my husband if we had had to worry about all the things the planners dealt with. Get a wedding planner! Get the ladies at Your Special Day in Raleigh!
Suzan
Wedding: 9/10/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Words can hardly describe the joy and amazing peace our family had throughout the planning process and on the day of our daughter's wedding. As a mother who was told by doctors she would not have children, let's just say the marriage of our only daughter was a VERY BIG DEAL. Shawn has been a family friend for many years, and we completely trusted her to help us plan and organize the most special and memorable wedding day. The wedding took place this past weekend, and I'd like to share three things that any bride-to-be may find helpful to know. 1. Not only did Shawn recommend vendors, help plan the ceremony, nail down details, flow, reception layout, etc., but she labored behind the scenes with all vendors to help us with pricing and ensure all contracts were honored on the day of - as we simply basked in the beauty of the moment and enjoyed the celebration with family and friends. 2. A friend at Bible study asked me how was the whole planning process, and how was the wedding. With a huge smile I told her the truth, "It was absolutely wonderful - start to finish!" She said I am the first person who has ever said that, but that most people found it to be a very stressful process. 3. (This one is the most important and meaningful.) Our daughter, just before she got into the car to leave with her new husband, turned to hug me and her dad good-bye. With deep emotion she said to us, "It was the most perfect day! Everything was even more perfect than I had hoped it would be! Thank you!" And yes, there were tears and big hugs, as well as big sighs of contentment and gratitude. Shawn and Michelle made our daughter's special day even more special and memorable. Many of our guests commented on the beauty of the venue (Portofino Estates in Clayton), how delicious the food was (Unforgettable Food Affairs) and what a magnificent wedding it was. I highly recommend Shawn and her staff at Your Special Day - if you want a smooth-flowing, joy-filled and truly special event!
happyMOB
Wedding: 8/13/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I am the mother of the bride. My daughter and her now husband were engaged in April and decided that August was the best time for them to get married. That basically gave us 4 months to plan an out of town wedding !!! To say I was panicked was putting it mildly ! My daughter and I were beginning to do some preliminary planning ( she living in Raleigh and I in South Carolina). We went into a bridal store in Raleigh to look at dresses and I asked about wedding planners. I was given Shawn's card and told that she was the best ! My daughter was not too keen on having any outside help because she had a vision for her day and didn't want someone else to plan it !! After two days of wedding planning, on the third day, I called Shawn at 8:30 am. After apologizing profusely for calling so early, I told her my situation and that I needed help with a capital H ! I felt an immediate bond with her and though she was leaving to go out of town that morning, she took the time to go through the process with me and calmed me down and assured me that the task at hand was not the impossible thing I thought it was !! I hired Shawn for day of co-ordination, but along with that came all the phone calls we needed to get advice and direction. She gave us vendor recommendations and feedback. My daughter had the most beautiful wedding ever....it screamed her personality and wonderful taste. She and her groom made all the big decisions for their wedding day and reception. Shawn guided me through all the other details.......for which I am forever grateful. Two weeks before the wedding my daughter and I and Shawn and our caterer sat down together to finalize all the details. After the meeting my daughter told me how grateful she was that we had Shawn to help us. Shawn was the glue that held everything together for us. Although my daughters plan was gorgeous, Shawn was able to suggest the finishing touches that completed the plan ! The week of the wedding Shawn took over all the vendors and any coordination that was left to take of. We were able to relax and spend that time together as a family. The wedding day went so smoothly with Shawn and Michelle's calm and professional manner. My husband and I were able to relax and leave everything to them. It was truly a blessing for all of us to have the day and evening in their capable hands. We were able to be with our famliy and friends and enjoy the moment. Calling her that morning was one of the smartest moments of my life !!
kidz
Wedding: 6/25/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We talked with several planners before meeting with Shawn. We knew almost immediately she was the planner for us. She is friendly and professional. She makes you feel like you are the only person in the world and caters to your every need. We had a guest list of over 300. Her staff handled all the rsvps and made our day the most memorable day ever. Words can't express how much we appreciate everything that Shawn and her staff did for us. They are the BEST!
Lauren
Wedding: 6/25/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Having never been involved with planning a wedding we had no idea where to even begin with the process when I got engaged. With both my mother and myself having very demanding full-time jobs, we knew we could not plan a large wedding on our own. When we met Shawn, we knew she would be the perfect person to help us and we couldn't have been more correct! With Shawn's help, everyday leading up to my wedding was stress-free and my wedding day was no different. Every detail of the ceremony and reception was orchestrated perfectly. No matter what services you budget for, your money will be well spent with any help you receive from Shawn and her team!
Joie
Wedding: 6/11/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot begin to express my gratitude to Shawn and the rest of Your Special Day. They were so nice and receptive and are able to tackle anything! I had a somewhat complicated wedding (the dinner was before the ceremony-meaning that the reception hall had to be flipped completely over in a 20 minute time span for 250 people!!!) and she pulled it off BEAUTIFULLY. My whole family, my husband's whole family are still amazed at how well she handled everything. I highly HIGHLY recommend!
apegram
Wedding: 4/30/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Emily was amazing. We had the wedding in our backyard. Emily worked out all the logistics of having a ceremony and with in less than an hour reception set up for 170 people in the same spot. She kept everyone doing what they were suppose to in order for things to run smoothly. We wanted sparklers at the departure but had so many people leaving early that she set up in a 5 minute window a fake departure in order to get the pictures we wanted. Her helper Leigh Ann was amazing jumping in to change my daughters diaper so my dress would not get messed up. They truly did everything and more to give me the wedding of my dreams. Thank you Emily and Your Special Day.
 
 
Find Your Special Day Weddings and Special Events reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Your Special Day Weddings and Special Events for Planners services.