home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  the clubs at st. james plantation >  reviews

The Clubs At St. James Plantation

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 910-253-9500 
3779 Members Club Blvd, Southport, NC 28461
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
14 Total Reviews
 
Kelly
Wedding: 6/22/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Brandee, at the St. James Plantation is wonderful. I'm not sure what we would have done without her. The venue is beautiful but simple however the service is what takes it to the next level. Every member of the staff was absolutely fantastic and attentive. We were able to customize our menu and the food turned out perfect. We planned our wedding long distance and pretty much every other vendor we came across in that area was horrible and unresponsive. I would have completely lost it if Brandee wasn't there to help me wrangle everyone up. She even made sure we got a refund when the DJ company they work with, failed to meet their agreement. One word of advice- If you plan to have out of town guests I would recommend you get a room block at a neighboring hotel. The condo office is very slow and we needed to recheck every reservation once a week to make sure they were accurate, didn't get moved, or cancelled (which happened MANY times). Overall, our 4 day wedding weekend went smoothly and everyone had a wonderful time.
Katherine
Wedding: 5/25/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Clubs at St James is as picturesque, classy and romantic as it gets. This is all apparent from just driving through the town on the way to the lovely venue. That being said, this review and 5 stars is mainly for Brandee Donnelly, the event coordinator at St James. Brandee is that rare combination of wonderful-at-their-job and overall wonderful person. She absolutely went above and beyond to make sure I had the most stress-free planning experience I could have hoped for. What really made me realize how truly special she is in the wedding world, is when it sunk in the day after the wedding that I never once felt like Brandee had any other wedding going on beside my own. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for making sure our day was perfect!
Stephanie
Wedding: 5/4/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My event planner at St. James Plantation was just wonderful. She was the only person throughout this process that did not upset me. She had everything worked out for me and was prompt on returning my emails and keeping steady contact with me. My mother even said she wished she had another daughter so she could get married there. We had a wonderful experience and the wedding was beautiful! We now are going to vacation there once a year! Me and my family could not thank them enough!
Anonymous
Wedding: 4/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Members Club is located in the beautiful St James Plantation in Southport NC. The location made for a perfect setting for a perfect day! The wedding coordinator there (Brandee Donnelly) made planning the wedding a breeze. She also made the day of the wedding no stress at all. She did everything exactly the way i wanted it done. The staff working was also exceptional! They made sure every guest was taken care of, especially the me and my groom. The site is perfect for great pictures inside and outside around the plantation. The food was perfectly cooked and the drinks were strong! I HIGHLY recommend using The Members Club venue for a wedding reception venue.
Private User
Wedding: 3/9/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The staff at St. James were phenomenal! They anticipated our every need before we even needed to ask. They went above and beyond to make sure that our wedding was exactly as we wanted it to be and made it so stress-free for us. I would definitely recommend using St. James without hesitation.
Anonymous
Wedding: 8/11/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Planning my wedding was made easy with all the help and quick responses to questions that I had! To top it all off the vendors referred were wonderful. Brandee was fabulous and made everything possible. Whenever I had a question or was looking for a service, she always had the answers and was quick to respond. She made my wedding everything I hoped for and more.
Megan
Wedding: 6/9/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My husband and I live in Texas, but chose to have a destination wedding in Southport, NC. We were introduced to St. James Plantation because my parents are members of the Clubs. For a bride planning an out of town wedding I could not have picked a better venue! Brandee Donnelly, the director of catering, is absolutely AMAZING to work with. We had three events at the Clubs: the rehearsal dinner at Founders Club, the bridal luncheon at the Reserve, and the wedding reception at Members Club. Each event was more impressive than the last. Brandee was so helpful in providing feedback on menus and room setup, as well as the order of events. One huge benefit the clubs offer brides is the wedding packages include the DJ and the cake. For someone from out of town, it really helped to have one point of contact for most of our vendors. She was always available and very prompy with email; There is absolutely no way I could have planned this wedding without her help. I can truly say that I had no worries on my wedding day and was so grateful that I chose St. James and Brandee. We were also extremely impressed with the staff and the food. I highly recommend the Clubs at St. James for any bride looking to get married in the Coastal Carolinas.
Marissa
Wedding: 6/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We are from PA and were planning the wedding from a distance. I knew the area from summer vacations, but had never actually been to The Clubs. Our choice was based on pictures on the website and the fact that they provided pretty much everything we needed. The package included venue, food, drink, champagne, and the DJ. It would have included the cake too, but we decided to extend the cocktail hour instead and cover the cake ourselves. Brandee was an absolute joy to work with. She helped me every step of the way, and mostly by email which made it easier for me. She provided me with plenty of options and suggestions, all of which were very much appreciated. She even took care of the rental chairs for the beach ceremony for us and included it on our contract with her. We finally met her the day before the wedding to drop off some decorations, and she walked us through the venue (just beautiful) and how everything would be set up. She was also on hand for part of the reception to make sure everything was going smoothly. Everything went perfectly. There was not one hiccup the whole day. Our guests raved about how good the food was and the DJ they contracted kept everyone on the dance floor all night long. It was truly the perfect day. Many, many thanks to Brandee.
Jaimie
Wedding: 5/19/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My ceremony was held at St. James by the Sea, which is a beach club on Oak Island, and my reception was held at the Members Club at St. James Plantation in Southport. Both venues were perfect for my wedding of 110. Brandee Donnelly, the catering manager, was incredibly helpful and responsive, and went above and beyond my expectations. She was a joy to work with and I would recommend the venue to anyone. A piece of advice for brides with a more restrictive budget- St. James does promote their reception "packages" which are kind of an all inclusive price per head, but other options do exist. The packages were significantly over my admittedly low budget and didn't "fit" our group well (ex. many of our guests were not alcohol drinkers and it seemed wasteful to have them charged the same alcohol fee). When I expressed those concerns to Brandee, she gave me several options that met my price point for food and arranged for the alcohol tab to be consumption based- not price per head. While you do lose some of the included features when you don't pick a package (free dance floor, second bar, waived facility fee, etc) it still worked our best budget-wise for us.
Private User
Wedding: 4/21/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Clubs at St. James Plantation was the perfect place for our wedding reception. Our reception was held at the Members Club which which was the perfect size and setup for our 90 person reception. Brandee, on the event planning team, was awesome to work with. She was receptive to all our ideas and helped to execute everyone of them. There was nothing that she and The Clubs wasn't willing to do to make our day great. One of the best parts of the Clubs is that it was all inclusive with food, cake (or pie in our case), bar and DJ. This was an amazing bonus for us since we were planning this as a destination wedding and it helped to consolidate our vendors. The Clubs helped coordinate all of the setup and decorating which was a huge bonus. All of our guests have been telling us that we had a genuinely fun wedding that they really enjoyed. We truly enjoyed our day and would recommend The Clubs to any bride and groom.
Alanna
Wedding: 10/1/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The services provided by St. James Plantation were excellent. The food was the best I had ever had and all of my guests felt the same way. It was very easy for me to plan everything and Brandee was very experienced in wedding planning and thought of things I had not ever thought of. It was easy for me to enjoy my big day and not stress about the little things and it went off without a hitch. The venue was beautiful and the space accommodated my guests pefectly. It was everything I could have wanted for my wedding.
Chris and Morgan
Wedding: 5/7/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend The Clubs highly enough to show how wonderful they were to work with, in particular, Brandee at Member's Club. We had a year to plan and they were flexible, timely, responsive and accommodating while providing top notch service. We had about 130 guests for a plated dinner, and got raves about the food being the best wedding food guests had ever eaten. As bride and groom we were waited on hand and foot at the reception and never once had to seek out a server for anything. From start to finish, The Clubs were amazing and made our special day easy and beautiful. Definitely recommend!
jillocb
Wedding: 10/16/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Brandee Donnelly is the Catering Director at The Members Club in St James Plantation. She is wonderful. She helped plan every moment of our reception and even assisted us with some other plans that were not taking place at the club. Her staff is wonderful and attentive and stayed out of the way even during service. The quality of the staff and food was excellent. Everything that was planned through the club was absolutely perfect.
Missy
Wedding: 4/18/15
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
We haven't had our wedding yet but I just wanted to give brides insight on the deciding process. We could not be more pleased with Brandee. She is amazing, super sweet and caring and unbelievably patient with my 1 million questions on a daily basis. The venue is stunning and the packages are to die for, don't get sticker shock - actually do your research. Everything is all around perfect so far. Definitely look into this one!!!
 
 
Find The Clubs At St. James Plantation reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used The Clubs At St. James Plantation for Ceremony Venues services.