home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  the carolina inn >  reviews

The Carolina Inn

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 919-918-2749 
211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
 
Overall Rating
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.7/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.6/5.0
Professionalism:
4.7/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.7/5.0
Flexibility:
4.6/5.0
 
67 Total Reviews
 
Private User
Wedding: 4/18/15
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn is so incredible. We had our April 2015 ceremony in the Bryan Courtyard and reception in the Hill Ballroom. Heidi Werner (catering manager and so much more) was probably the single best person we came across in all of wedding planning - so wonderful and made the process so easy and smooth. The entire staff was fantastic. 10 out of 10 experience for sure!
JGoggins
Wedding: 1/10/15
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We just had our reaction and ceremony at the Carolina Inn in the Old Well Rooms. All of our guests were floored by the beautiful ballroom! We also had multiple "this is one of the nicest, quaint, awesome hotels we've ever stayed in" comments as well. The staff Tom the front desk, servers, bartenders, valets etc etc were absolute amazing! Super accommodating and friendly all around! Most importantly...the fooood was ah-mazing! We had scallops and tenderloin! I was afraid the scallops would be overdone because of the quantity that needed to be produced but they were Perfectly delicious! We also had so many comments on the tenderloin as well. Our guests said it cut like butter!
Katie-Ann
Wedding: 11/22/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn was the perfect place for our reception venue. It had meaning to us as it was on the campus my husband and I attended, as well as the school where my sister is a student and where my father audited a class. It was the perfect place with its southern charm and elegance as well as a place close to our hearts! We worked with Kristen at the Inn who was a pleasure to work with. She knew exactly what we had in mind and worked closely with our wedding coordinator where everything on the day of the wedding went off without a hitch. She had coordinated with the kitchen on our meals including one gluten free, as well as special dishes such as shrimp and grits served in a martini glass and our dessert table where the Inn added a few special desserts we requested. We had discussed diagrams of the room and coordinated with CE Rentals for our linens and charger plates which all looked beautiful the day of the wedding. Kristen did an excellent job coordinating with reservations so our guests also had an exceptional experience while at the Inn. They all received their welcome bags we had provided for them and all of the guests are still talking about how beautiful their rooms were. The reservations staff accommodated my husband and I with a beautiful suite as well as upgrading my suite on our first night checking in which was so convenient in laying everything out for the big weekend ahead and took into account my request for having our guests in the "medical" wing of the Inn with our background in dentistry. We cannot express enough how pleased we were with the Inn for our wedding and highly recommend using them for your event in the...
Kaylie
Wedding: 11/8/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Where else would we have a Tar Heel/ Carolina themed wedding?! The Inn was such a beautiful venue, and the catering team was amazing to work with. They made sure that every detail was perfect that day. Also, they provide you with an amazing packet of vendors that they personally have worked with several times and trust, making my decision much less stress-free! Kristen was so adorable, and even after being away on maternity leave, she came back and was on top of every detail and every aspect of my wedding. Also, the food was delicious (typically wedding food is mediocre, but I still have people commenting on how amazing our Shrimp and Grits were!), and it was so nice to have every aspect of our wedding take place in the one area. It was PERFECT!
Jessica
Wedding: 9/27/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our ceremony and reception was at The Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill, NC! It was a great spot in the middle of town and easy to get shuttles and cabs to and from. The team there was awesome and listened to every wish I had for the big day. I worked with catering manager, Kristen Prescott, and she was lively, energetic, and concerned with making the two of us happy no matter what! She explained every choice and detail that we had to make a decision on and carried it out perfectly. She also referred us to a couple of day-of planners and we decided to go with, Kailey Branham, from A Southern Soiree, and she did a phenomenal job putting every piece of our day together so I didn't have to...
Shelley
Wedding: 8/23/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had 75 rooms booked for our wedding weekend, and held both the wedding and reception at the Inn. With most of our guests coming from out of town, we couldn't have found a better location. The Inn has beautiful sitting areas for people to congregate, and they did a masterful job with the wedding and reception. The food was fabulous, and the wedding coordinator was totally on top of everything. It was perfect.
Rachel
Wedding: 8/2/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn staff was exceptional to work with! Our wedding day was perfect and all of our guests had a blast! We could not have asked for a more perfect day! Melissa Sayre was amazing and handled every detail down to changing the ceremony from outside to inside due to weather. It was such a smooth transition that our guests thought it was scheduled to be inside the entire time!
Jessica
Wedding: 5/30/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Working with The Carolina Inn was an absolute dream! At first I hadn't even looked at this venue because I assumed it would be outside of my budget, but I am so happy that I reached out for more information. I found The Carolina Inn to be the best value of any of the venues that I looked at, and throughout the process they were so transparent with pricing and so easy to work with. Elizabeth Rubio was great to work with and helped me find ways to get everything I wanted while staying within budget. At the wedding, their staff did an absolutely incredible job of making sure that everything was flawless! All of my guests couldn't stop talking about how beautiful everything was, and how amazing their entire experience at The Carolina Inn had been. During the planning process, I had never even looked at the actual "hotel" part of The Carolina Inn, but once I saw it at the wedding, it was SO beautiful! Every step of the planning process was so wonderful, and even once we got to The Carolina Inn their staff did everything they could to meet our needs, and our guests needs. I 100% recommend The Carolina Inn and I can't think of a single even slightly negative thing to say about the entire experience.
Kate
Wedding: 5/17/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amazing venue...exactly what we had pictured for our wedding. We worked with JJ as our consultant and she was amazing. We have gotten a huge amount of compliments about the food, service and how beautiful the Inn was. We couldn't be happier with our experience.
Private User
Wedding: 4/26/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our daughter's wedding and reception this past weekend at The Carolina Inn was just wonderful. We could not have been more pleased with how everything turned out. The Inn itself is just gorgeous and living history. Our guests enjoyed the ambience and all of the comments regarding the accommodations were very positive. The staff is extremely helpful and professional. As for the ceremony and reception, we felt both were flawless. Melissa Sayre, Catering Manager, went above and beyond to create a well paced evening, starting with the ceremony in the Bryan Courtyard, to the cocktail hour in the Old Well Wing, then finally dinner and dancing in the beautiful Old Well Room. The food was delicious and we had lots of compliments on taste and variety. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. Stations were chosen instead of a plated dinner and that really worked well - organized, neat, and I think our guests felt very relaxed with this approach. They flowed easily from the different rooms that were used for food stations and bar, and the photo booth centered in the gallery was a big hit. Melissa's recommendations were spot on and we had no issues at all. The bride and groom were very happy as were families and guests. So many compliments!
Valerie
Wedding: 3/22/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn was breathtaking for our Wedding Reception. Melissa Sayre went above and beyond, making our day perfect. Our day was enjoyable and seamless thanks to the planning of Melissa. The food and service was fantastic, guests raved about what was served. You cannot go wrong with this charming venue, they help make your wedding a fairytale.
Private User
Wedding: 12/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Cannot say enough about our New Year's Eve wedding at the Carolina Inn! They were incredibly responsive, professional, and attentive throughout the entire planning process and reception. The Inn specializes in weddings and special events, and it really shows--from bringing my husband and me food during our reception (there was no way we could get it ourselves!), to making sure all of the staff in charge introduced themselves, to making sure our event ran on schedule down to the MINUTE. The Carolina Inn was the perfect place for our wedding. We especially appreciated that the pricing was clear up front and did not change--no hidden costs or add-ons later, which allowed us to stay on budget. The Old Well room was absolutely gorgeous and the event was flawless--thanks to Kristen Prescott and the entire staff!
Private User
Wedding: 12/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn hosted our wedding ceremony and reception in December of 2013. The service that we received from the incredible team at this unbelievable hotel was unbeatable. Melissa Sayre is truly exceptional. She went above and beyond to make our day exceptions. She responded to every email promptly and every small detail that we discussed over a year of planning our event was perfectly executed. The food was amazing, the facilities were stunning. We could not have been happier. Our guests (99% of whom were not from North Carolina) could not stop talking about how exceptionally beautiful the Inn was, how great their guest rooms were, and how wonderful the overall wedding was. Our wedding day was the best, most stress-free day of our lives. The vision that my husband and I had truly came to life. It is a day that we will always remember, and we owe much of that to Melissa and the wonderful staff at the Carolina Inn.
Kristen
Wedding: 10/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn was THE PERFECT PLACE for our wedding. Everyone was incredibly helpful - especially Kristen, the social catering manager. She was extremely responsive and answered all of our (many, many) questions. Our ceremony was held in the Hill (large) courtyard, and the reception was in the Hill (large) ballroom. The sites were flawlessly put together, all of the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. Everything went off without a hitch! I cannot say enough good things about The Carolina Inn - this place knows how to throw the perfect wedding!!!
Melissa
Wedding: 9/14/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn was the perfect place to get married! I cannot say enough good things about the Inn or our sales and catering manager, Kristen Prescott. They handled our wedding with more professionalism and proficiency than I could have ever expected. No details were ever too small (or too big) for the Inn to handle. Kristen and her team, were very flexible to make our day very special. I am grateful for the opportunity to have worked with her. I would recommend the Carolina Inn to anyone planning a wedding or any other event. Simply flawless!!
Elizabeth
Wedding: 8/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Words can't adequately express how perfect the CI and all of their staff were throughout the entire wedding process. They made my dream wedding a reality. Melissa Sayre, my catering manager, was beyond amazing and pivotal in making the wedding day run smoothly. My husband, mom and I both don't know HOW we would have done it without her. The venue is GORGEOUS. We got married in the "Old Well" room and all of our guests remarked on how beautiful the room was and how it looks like something out of a dream. If I had to go back and do the whole process a second time I would pic CI yet again hands down! Thanks to their amazing staff, and to Melissa especally, for all of their outstanding work!
Marielle
Wedding: 8/24/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that I listened to my parents and chose to have my wedding at the Carolina Inn. My family and husband & I still can't get over how perfectly the day went. Our guests loved spending the weekend there and had such a blast - it is such a beautiful venue, it has character, it's charming, it's right next to campus, the hotel staff was so hospitable, and the rooms are newly-renovated and very comfortable. I can't thank Kristen enough for her overwhelming responsiveness and attentiveness to all of my questions during the 9 months leading up to the wedding. I'm pretty sure I emailed her multiple times a week and always got an answer within 1 business day. She not only answered my many questions but also worked with me to accommodate my crazy requests and make sure everything would be executed as we had envisioned. The Carolina Inn will always be a special place to us because of the amazing weekend we all had...
Molly
Wedding: 8/9/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had our reception here a couple of weeks ago. It. was. flawless. It was the most beautiful, magical, perfect wedding! Everything went perfect and there were no hiccups. We loved every single minute of our time there. Since then, everyone has told us how much fun our wedding was and how magical the venue...
Brenda
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We really enjoyed partnering with Melissa Sayre on my daughter's (and new son-in-law's!) wedding reception at the Carolina Inn. She "inherited" us half way through our year-long planning, and she never skipped a beat. She was helpful, professional, supportive, informative, and easy to work with. Melissa cheerfully answered endless novice and last-minute questions, as well as accommodated a couple of unusual requests with great ease and poise. The food was delicious; we heard many compliments about it. We also heard numerous compliments about the guest rooms, especially those amazingly comfortable beds! We had SO many people (ranging in age from 24-85) tell us it was the BEST wedding (at University UMC) and reception (Carolina Inn's Hill Ballroom) they had ever been to, and I mean A LOT of people. They had a blast!! All of the Carolina Inn staff was approachable, attentive, responsive, and exemplified terrific customer service, all of which made the mother of the bride responsibilities much less stressful. Thank you for being part of a wonderful life-long memory for the new couple and everyone who joined us at the reception!!
Rainy
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We knew when we walked into the Old Well Room that we wanted to have our wedding reception here. It's gorgeous - 100% pure old southern style. I grew up in NC, but my fiance did not, and we wanted our guests to be blown away by a mix of traditional elegance and modern touches. We "inherited" Melissa part way through the planning process, and she was great. We wanted to put a few modern touches on the event, to make it more personal, and I was really impressed with how flexible she was. Everyone at the Inn made us feel special, and our guests could not believe how gorgeous everything was. We had an amazing wedding weekend at the Inn, and all of our guests did too! Even the food was incredible. It was definitely a once in a lifetime experience for us, and we're very grateful to have hosted it at the Carolina Inn.
 
 
Find The Carolina Inn reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used The Carolina Inn for Bridal Shows services.