home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  the carolina inn >  reviews

The Carolina Inn

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 919-918-2749 
211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
 
Overall Rating
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.7/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.6/5.0
Professionalism:
4.7/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.6/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
 
54 Total Reviews
 
Private User
Wedding: 12/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Cannot say enough about our New Year's Eve wedding at the Carolina Inn! They were incredibly responsive, professional, and attentive throughout the entire planning process and reception. The Inn specializes in weddings and special events, and it really shows--from bringing my husband and me food during our reception (there was no way we could get it ourselves!), to making sure all of the staff in charge introduced themselves, to making sure our event ran on schedule down to the MINUTE. The Carolina Inn was the perfect place for our wedding. We especially appreciated that the pricing was clear up front and did not change--no hidden costs or add-ons later, which allowed us to stay on budget. The Old Well room was absolutely gorgeous and the event was flawless--thanks to Kristen Prescott and the entire staff!
Private User
Wedding: 12/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn hosted our wedding ceremony and reception in December of 2013. The service that we received from the incredible team at this unbelievable hotel was unbeatable. Melissa Sayre is truly exceptional. She went above and beyond to make our day exceptions. She responded to every email promptly and every small detail that we discussed over a year of planning our event was perfectly executed. The food was amazing, the facilities were stunning. We could not have been happier. Our guests (99% of whom were not from North Carolina) could not stop talking about how exceptionally beautiful the Inn was, how great their guest rooms were, and how wonderful the overall wedding was. Our wedding day was the best, most stress-free day of our lives. The vision that my husband and I had truly came to life. It is a day that we will always remember, and we owe much of that to Melissa and the wonderful staff at the Carolina Inn.
Kristen
Wedding: 10/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn was THE PERFECT PLACE for our wedding. Everyone was incredibly helpful - especially Kristen, the social catering manager. She was extremely responsive and answered all of our (many, many) questions. Our ceremony was held in the Hill (large) courtyard, and the reception was in the Hill (large) ballroom. The sites were flawlessly put together, all of the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. Everything went off without a hitch! I cannot say enough good things about The Carolina Inn - this place knows how to throw the perfect wedding!!!
Melissa
Wedding: 9/14/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn was the perfect place to get married! I cannot say enough good things about the Inn or our sales and catering manager, Kristen Prescott. They handled our wedding with more professionalism and proficiency than I could have ever expected. No details were ever too small (or too big) for the Inn to handle. Kristen and her team, were very flexible to make our day very special. I am grateful for the opportunity to have worked with her. I would recommend the Carolina Inn to anyone planning a wedding or any other event. Simply flawless!!
Elizabeth
Wedding: 8/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Words can't adequately express how perfect the CI and all of their staff were throughout the entire wedding process. They made my dream wedding a reality. Melissa Sayre, my catering manager, was beyond amazing and pivotal in making the wedding day run smoothly. My husband, mom and I both don't know HOW we would have done it without her. The venue is GORGEOUS. We got married in the "Old Well" room and all of our guests remarked on how beautiful the room was and how it looks like something out of a dream. If I had to go back and do the whole process a second time I would pic CI yet again hands down! Thanks to their amazing staff, and to Melissa especally, for all of their outstanding work!
Marielle
Wedding: 8/24/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that I listened to my parents and chose to have my wedding at the Carolina Inn. My family and husband & I still can't get over how perfectly the day went. Our guests loved spending the weekend there and had such a blast - it is such a beautiful venue, it has character, it's charming, it's right next to campus, the hotel staff was so hospitable, and the rooms are newly-renovated and very comfortable. I can't thank Kristen enough for her overwhelming responsiveness and attentiveness to all of my questions during the 9 months leading up to the wedding. I'm pretty sure I emailed her multiple times a week and always got an answer within 1 business day. She not only answered my many questions but also worked with me to accommodate my crazy requests and make sure everything would be executed as we had envisioned. The Carolina Inn will always be a special place to us because of the amazing weekend we all had...
Molly
Wedding: 8/9/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had our reception here a couple of weeks ago. It. was. flawless. It was the most beautiful, magical, perfect wedding! Everything went perfect and there were no hiccups. We loved every single minute of our time there. Since then, everyone has told us how much fun our wedding was and how magical the venue...
Brenda
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We really enjoyed partnering with Melissa Sayre on my daughter's (and new son-in-law's!) wedding reception at the Carolina Inn. She "inherited" us half way through our year-long planning, and she never skipped a beat. She was helpful, professional, supportive, informative, and easy to work with. Melissa cheerfully answered endless novice and last-minute questions, as well as accommodated a couple of unusual requests with great ease and poise. The food was delicious; we heard many compliments about it. We also heard numerous compliments about the guest rooms, especially those amazingly comfortable beds! We had SO many people (ranging in age from 24-85) tell us it was the BEST wedding (at University UMC) and reception (Carolina Inn's Hill Ballroom) they had ever been to, and I mean A LOT of people. They had a blast!! All of the Carolina Inn staff was approachable, attentive, responsive, and exemplified terrific customer service, all of which made the mother of the bride responsibilities much less stressful. Thank you for being part of a wonderful life-long memory for the new couple and everyone who joined us at the reception!!
Rainy
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We knew when we walked into the Old Well Room that we wanted to have our wedding reception here. It's gorgeous - 100% pure old southern style. I grew up in NC, but my fiance did not, and we wanted our guests to be blown away by a mix of traditional elegance and modern touches. We "inherited" Melissa part way through the planning process, and she was great. We wanted to put a few modern touches on the event, to make it more personal, and I was really impressed with how flexible she was. Everyone at the Inn made us feel special, and our guests could not believe how gorgeous everything was. We had an amazing wedding weekend at the Inn, and all of our guests did too! Even the food was incredible. It was definitely a once in a lifetime experience for us, and we're very grateful to have hosted it at the Carolina Inn.
Andrea
Wedding: 6/8/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn is a quintessential location in North Carolina. My friends and family have not stopped raving about the incredible experience they had at the Carolina Inn. As the bride, there were no limits to requests that I made and every single employee from the valet, to the servers, to the front desk, to the catering manager, made me feel like the top priority even though there were multiple events happening at the same time as my wedding. I cannot thank the Carolina Inn enough for giving me a magical wedding experience and making all of my guests feel so welcomed and catered to. THANK YOU!
Private User
Wedding: 6/1/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Carolina Inn completely surpassed our expectations for our June 1, 2013 ceremony and reception. From start to finish Melissa Sayre and the rest of the staff were extremely attentive, responsive and respectful of our wishes and budget. Many of our guests were from out of town, and were similarly impressed with the Inn's high quality of service and sheer beauty. The food both at the wedding and the restaurant where impeccable. We could not have dreamt of a better ceremony and reception venue.
Margaret
Wedding: 5/18/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Like some of the other brides I've seen reviews from, we also had a change in catering manager mid-planning. While we had our doubts about this at first that were mainly due to fear of change so late in the process, we were completely won over by the time the wedding rolled around. The Inn operated seamlessly with all our vendors, and everything came out JUST as we pictured it. I honestly can't speak highly enough of everybody we worked with there. Melissa was wonderful and had everything in place on the day (despite the rain!), and all of the guests we spoke with were thrilled with the beauty of the Inn and the friendliness of the service. The Old Well came out just as beautifully both on the day and in our pictures as I'd hoped! I was a little concerned that there were two other weddings happening at the same time (I saw both of the other brides at various points), but nobody was stepping on anybody's toes. It was like we were the only wedding there! Just a detail for anybody this may help- we had around 85 guests and a full band setup in the Old Well, and it worked perfectly! There was definitely enough room for more guests...
Rachel-Rose
Wedding: 5/4/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved having my wedding, both the ceremony and reception, at the beautiful Carolina Inn! The staff made the entire wedding process a joy and were helpful and responsive to the questions we had. I got to work with Melissa Sayre who is fantastic and extremely personable! She was always on top of everything and was very easy to work with! I highly recommend the Carolina Inn as a venue to get married and it will always hold a special place in my heart!
Jessica
Wedding: 3/16/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Service: We had an amazing experience holding our ceremony and receptions at the Carolina Inn. The sales manager, catering manager and hotel staff were accomodating and helpful. All of our emails were responded to within a day. Value: We venue shopped for a year. The Inn was honestly the best value. I appreciated their per guest pricing structure and there were absolutely no hidden costs. Flexibility: The Inn was able to accommodate special requests and last minute changes. I highly recommend the Inn for your wedding or event.
Jessica
Wedding: 3/9/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Melissa is awesome as is the whole staff at the Carolina Inn! Melissa became our wedding planner after we had already booked our wedding at the Inn. After meeting with us once, she knew exactly what we were looking for and what type of wedding we were planning. She helped us coordinate a happy hour the night before the wedding, the ceremony and wedding as well as brunch the next day! Everything went smoothly and was everything we could have ever hoped for and more. Almost all of our guests were from out of town and they all continue to rave about how friendly, helpful, and accomodating everyone at the Inn was. The food was amazing, the Chancellors Ballroom was set up perfectly and looked gorgeous! This is a perfect venue for a wedding and has so much to offer! I loved that Melissa was able to help us with all of our needs. She definitely went above and beyond her duties! Thank you Melissa and everyone at the Carolina Inn!
Karen
Wedding: 12/28/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had my daughter's rehearsal dinner, reception and wedding breakfast at the Carolina Inn. The Inn's staff is the epitome of professionalism, responsiveness and excellence. I cannot find enough superlatives to talk about their performance! ALL staff (parking valet, front desk staff, wait staff, bellmen, housekeeping, EVERYBODY!) were helpful and friendly. The food and service at all of our events was wonderful. We had planned for all guests to stay at the Inn but because of room renovations, there weren't enough rooms available. The CI wedding coordinators arranged for guests to stay the other UNC property, The Rizzo. The CI staff provided seamless coordination of this, including transportation from The Rizzo, to the church, to the CI for the reception and back to The Rizzo. I can't imagine another reception venue doing this. My highest praise goes to the CI Wedding Coordinator that we worked with for the last month, Melissa Sayre. A month before our wedding, Melissa stepped in to replace our original coordinator, Devon. (Devon took at new job at the Charlotte Ritz.) Melissa knew we may be nervous about working with a new coordinator at the last minute, so she went out of her way to reassure us. She probably contacted us everyday during the month of December, providing us updated information, suggestions and kind words. She made our wedding 100% stress-free. Any request we had, she went to the ends of the earth to get it accomplished. Melissa is the best. The Carolina Inn does over 150 wedding per year...and their experience is evident in every aspect needed for a perfect wedding. All CI staff involved in our wedding were consummate professionals. The CI calendar fills quickly, but if you are lucky enough to book a date, know that your Carolina Inn wedding/reception/rehearsal dinner will be perfect!
Rosemary
Wedding: 7/21/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
It was an elegant and classy spot for our reception. Absolutely thrilled we chose the Carolina inn as our venue.
Sally
Wedding: 7/14/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about the Carolina Inn and especially Heidi. We got the reception of our dreams (and bridal luncheon and rehearsal dinner) because of the hard work from the event staff at the Carolina Inn. It's worth the money to get exceptional people working for you. They were all friendly and provided exceptional service. I always felt like they genuinely wanted to make sure we were 100% satisfied—no... more than satisfied! I have been slowly convincing my best friend to book her wedding at the Inn so I can relive it all over again!
Anonymous
Wedding: 6/30/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
What a perfect location for my daughter's wedding reception ! We had several out-of-town guests who also stayed at the Inn and were blown away by the "Southern hospitality" that they experienced. The food was exceptional and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We worked with Devon to plan the reception. She went "above and beyond" to make the reception exceptional ! The Carolina Inn was our "home away from home" that weekend; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will absolutely frequent the Inn in the future on every opportunity we get. If you're looking for an elegant, but not stuffy, setting for your wedding reception, you must try the Inn !
Elizabeth
Wedding: 6/30/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our wedding reception was in the Old Well Room on a Saturday afternoon on the hottest day of the year. It was beautiful and so easy! Everyone had a great time. They have weddings down to a science. We just told them what we wanted and they did it. Fantastic. I definitely recommend the Carolina Inn to everyone, especially if you are planning your wedding from another state. Also, the Inn is beautiful. Everyone who stayed in the hotel loved their rooms. I wanted to move into ours.
 
 
Find The Carolina Inn reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used The Carolina Inn for Ceremony Venues services.