home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  the balcony on dock >  reviews

The Balcony on Dock

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 910-342-0273 
33 South Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.9/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.9/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
75 Total Reviews
 
Ruby
Wedding: 1/3/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Jenn, Bekah, and their team at The Balcony. Jenn went above and beyond to make sure my special day ran smoothly and turned out exactly as I envisioned. The space is gorgeous as is, but it is quite stunning when it's all set up with the flowers, table settings, linens, etc. that you want-- the space can really accommodate any variety of themes/colors, etc. Also, the food is amazing, as well. Everything we chose was delicious, and all my guests raved about how much they enjoyed their meal. I would HiGHLY recommend The Balcony to any bride!
Kathleen
Wedding: 11/1/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We could not have been more pleased with Jenn at Balcony on Dock. It was a wonderful rehearsal dinner. Everything ran so smoothly. The food was great! The room was beautiful and I was completely at ease, knowing that everything was taken care of. It is a special memory for us! Thankyou so much!
Private User
Wedding: 10/26/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The venue was an easy choice for Kelly and I. We were blown away by this beautiful and unique venue from the moment we saw it. The exposed brick of the room really gave a feel of being in historic Downtown Wilmington. Our guests also really enjoyed the patio out back for our cocktail hour. We could not have been more pleased with Jen Rayle and her entire staff. Jen was extremely helpful in giving us great vendor recommendations and making coordinating with them seamless. She was also huge on the day of the event making sure everything went off without a hitch. We received many compliments on the friendliness of the staff and the delicious food. We could not be more pleased with the overall experience of this venue.
Private User
Wedding: 10/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Great experience overall. Jenn was so accommodating and our wedding turned out great!
Private User
Wedding: 10/13/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Balcony on Dock is hands down the best wedding venue in downtown Wilmington. The exposed brick, hardwood floors, huge windows, and famous balcony (great photo op!) make this place truly unique. We had 100 guests, which is the perfect number for this venue. We had plenty of room. Cocktail hour was outside in the courtyard with the gorgeous string lights that are included with the venue. We had southern eggrolls and crab cakes for apps and everyone loved them! Jenn is so talented, kind and willing to accommodate any requests I had. She planned out the night perfectly, and I didn't have to worry about timing of anything. One note on the dinner, I was not a big fan of the Mac 'n Cheese, but that was partially my fault for not doing a tasting before I selected the menu. Very very minor thing considering the whole night was amazing, and my friends and family kept telling me this was one of the best weddings they had ever been to! I'm so glad I went with Jenn and everyone else at Balcony, they are amazing!
Jan
Wedding: 10/13/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jenn and Becca were gems to work with. So competent, professional, responsive and eager to offer creative, sound advice and assurance prior to our event. Day of event was flawless - Jenn guided the pace of events perfectly. The staff was so well trained, pleasant and unobtrusive. The venue site is "take your breath away" magical - the hardwood floors, exposed brick, well maintained and sparkling pristine - its so obvious how much pride the staff takes in making your event special. The courtyard cocktail hour set the tone for the wonderful evening - such a special oasis in the middle of beautiful downtown Wilmington. All our guests had nothing but complements for the entire evening. Wouldn't have changed a thing!
katie
Wedding: 10/12/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Hands down the best experience we could have asked for. From the moment we stepped foot into the Balcony to view it as a possible location, we fell in love. Our wedding day was absolutely magical. Jenn was always present and was so easy to contact during the planning process. She was flexible and willing to meet our needs and was so professional and fun the night of the reception. To this day, our guests are still raving about the venue and the atmosphere that The Balcony on Dock created. I have nothing bad to say at all. I felt stress free and was able to really enjoy our special evening thanks to everyone at the Balcony who made sure it was picture perfect!
Meghan
Wedding: 9/14/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We walked into the Balcony and knew right away that it was the perfect place for us. The exposed brick and cool chandeliers give the venue a casual, but classy feel. The courtyard for cocktail hour is awesome...we had several people tell us that they felt like they were in a movie. The transition from ceremony upstairs to cocktail hour downstairs back to reception upstairs was seamless. It's amazing that they can flip the room so quickly! I can't say enough about the coordinator, Jenn. We really had no idea how to plan a wedding and she pointed us in the right direction every time. We live in Winston-Salem so we were nervous about planning a wedding long distance. Jenn made it so easy! She set up meetings with us over the phone and was always quick to respond to all of our million questions via email. She gave great advice on seating, food choices, decorations, timeline and so much else. If you are planning the wedding from somewhere besides Wilmington, you do not need to worry at all! Our wedding day was absolutely perfect thanks to...
Private User
Wedding: 9/7/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jenn and Bekah are an incredible team and we cannot thank them enough for helping to make our wedding so wonderful and memorable. Jenn is a wonderful event coordinator, and worked with all of our other vendors to move the night along seamlessly. My groom and I felt like royalty and they made everything so easy. The food was also amazing!!! We got so many compliments from family and friends about the setting, staff, and food, and couldn't have done it without Jenn and Bekah. I give my highest recommendation! If you are thinking of having a reception in Wilmington- have it here!!!
Hannah
Wedding: 9/6/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jenn at the Balcony on Dock was such a pleasure to work with! She was so helpful and professional while helping me plan our big day! Her staff is wonderful as well. The venue is beautiful! Best in Wilmington!
MaryClare
Wedding: 6/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jenn was fabulous ! Kept us informed by email and meeting with us. Very organized. I was extremely satisfied with her timing and organization at the reception. She knew when to escort each table for food, time the cutting of the cake, have the speech of best man and maid of honor, and just keep the flow of the reception going. The food was superb as well as the atmosphere! Thank you for great memories! MaryClare
Private User
Wedding: 6/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jenn is amazing! She is so organized and collaborates with other vendors to ensure the evening flows well! One less thing to stress about on your wedding day! Also, the food is AMAZING and the space/view is perfect in downtown Wilmington!
Kimberly
Wedding: 6/1/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
They were wonderful and one top of everything!!
Emily
Wedding: 5/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jenn was absolutely fabulous and we are so glad we were able to use The Balcony on Dock as our reception site. We didn't have a wedding planner and we didn't need one because Jenn was such a huge help. She did a perfect job of putting together a day-of timeline for us, coordinating with our other vendors, setting up our reception items, and really just helping us in anyway possible. The Balcony itself is so beautiful and in a prime location. Our friends and family had a blast and were so impressed with everything.
Private User
Wedding: 5/25/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jenn was such a pleasure to work with at Balcony. She always went above and beyond to help assist me as I was planning the wedding from out of town. The day of the wedding she made sure everything was perfect and that everyone was on the same timeline. I couldn't have asked for a better experience!
Gigi
Wedding: 5/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Overall this was a great place. The staff was professional and courteous. Compliments to the chef, we had many that commented on how delicious the food was. We worked mostly with Jenn, and I have to say that she was great. She went above and beyond to help set things up and make sure things went as planned. Thank you to all who had a part in making my daughter's wedding unforgetable.
Private User
Wedding: 5/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Balcony's staff was wonderful. Jen and Bekah made sure everything ran smoothly. Thanks.
Private User
Wedding: 5/17/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The rehearsal dinner on Friday Evening went very well. The ladies at this venue were great to work with. Jenn was very helpful with the planning and also for making sure everything went smoothly during the Cocktail Hour and Dinner. Our guests were very complimentary of the delicious food as well as the beautiful venue. I would definitely recommend their services as well as the venue.
Amanda
Wedding: 4/27/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Balcony on Dock was absolutely wonderful for my wedding on April 27, 2013. The whole event went on without any issues and the food was DELICIOUS!!! Jenn and the rest of the Balcony staff would AMAZING! Jenn was very attentative to all my needs and questions, and I couldn't have asked for a better person to help coordinate the wedding. She was always prompt with email responses and met with me whenever I needed. I live in the DC area so it was very reassuring to have her just an email or phone call away! Jenn was super sweet every time we interacted and I cannot thank her enough for calming my nerves. I highly recommended The Balcony to anyone looking to hold an event in Wilmington!
Lia
Wedding: 4/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Balcony on Dock was one of my dream wedding locations as it was the perfect venue for a ceremony and reception, without having to stress about the threat of rain. My event coordinator, Jenn, was extremely helpful throughout the entire planning process and went above and beyond to make sure my wedding was exactly how I envisioned it. We set up numerous appointments throughout the year to discuss vendors, decor, event design, food, etc and I never once felt like I needed a wedding planner, as she was always available with answers to my questions and made sure everything was taken care of the day of! The Balcony on Dock is a stunning wedding venue and was the perfect size for our group of 75, with plenty of room for more. Our guests raved about the food (southern egg rolls and the beef tenderloin were the favorites) and how smoothly the evening went. My husband and I HIGHLY recommend Balcony on Dock for your next event!!
 
 
Find The Balcony on Dock reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used The Balcony on Dock for Ceremony Venues services.