home >  categories >  planners >  a swanky affair >  reviews

A Swanky Affair

Services:

Planners

Phone: 919-477-7993 
PO Box 2840, Durham, NC 27705
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
35 Total Reviews
 
Kelly
Wedding: 7/12/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
When we were planning a wedding from out of state, we knew we would need some help coordinating the day-of. From our first phone call, I immediately clicked with Amanda. She was enthusiastic, and had great tips on how to implement our ideas. She has totally customizable service, meaning you can choose the exact aspects you're looking for, within your budget. We hired Amanda for the day-of coordination - my fiance and I wanted to do the planning ourselves, but we needed help to make sure everything went smoothly on the actual day. We also added on catering guidance. Amanda worked in catering previously, and has a good handle of what to look for in catering contracts. She set up tastings with local caterers, and was able to accommodate our short trip in town. We met with Amanda at the venue a couple times, and she was always very responsive via email and phone. I know she handles a lot of events, but I never felt rushed. On the wedding day, everything went smoothly! I heard of tiny incidents after the fact that she took care of immediately. It was great to know that our wedding was in extremely capable hands, and my family and I could just enjoy the day. From the small things (making sure I had my shoes and phone in the getaway car) to the big things (making sure everything was on schedule!), she handled it all with ease and a smile. She has a great reputation in Durham, and I can attest that she lives up to the hype! I cannot recommend her enough!
Kate
Wedding: 6/28/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda Scott is truly awesome. We hired her to begin helping us the month of the wedding. There were so many details I hadn't thought of, and so many loose ends to tie up. Amanda was extremely professional, responsive, and fun to work with. I felt so safe and comfortable that she had everything under control, and I was right! Both the wedding ceremony and reception were so smooth and flawless, which meant Jeff and I just got to relax and have fun. Did I mention she also set up and managed probably 15 different family DIY projects? She kept track of all the gifts and cards. I didn't have to worry about a thing. I would recommend A Swanky Affair in a heartbeat!
Holly
Wedding: 6/7/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda was an exceptional wedding coordinator. She is very organized, knows amazing vendors in the area, and has great recommendations. She thinks about all the little things to make sure your day is seamless. I really didn't worry about a thing the day of, because I knew Amanda had it covered. I really enjoyed working with her and would recommend her to anyone getting married in the Triangle area!
Donna
Wedding: 5/31/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
During the last year of planning, my goal as the MOB was to give my daughter the wedding of her dreams. Without Amanda Scott, this goal would have been unattainable. During all of my many emails, questions, and concerns, she was ever patient, tolerant, understanding, and always ready to assist with her high level of expertise. On the day of the wedding, I wanted to be able to enjoy the event, stress free, and to leave the details to another. Amanda not only provided orchestrated a fairy tale day for my daughter and her wonderful new hubby, but also gave me a mother of the bride day to cherish. Thank you Amanda....
LaRue
Wedding: 2/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda was worth more than her fee! We were very pleased with all the vendors she recommended. Her attention to detail was a huge help and minimized our stress level immensely. She is very professional and was "on top" of every aspect of the process.
Stephanie
Wedding: 2/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
A Swanky Affair/Amanda Scott is worth her weight in gold. She facilitated every aspect of wedding planning, recommending incredible choice of high quality vendors that she has previous experience with and that are competitively priced. Amanda deals directly with vendors if and when you want her to and completely takes the stress out of wedding planning. She provided us with complete full service wedding services (which I would highly recommend) and saved us a ton of money and most valuable of all, saved us time. My wedding weekend ran smoothly and seemingly effortlessly due to her high attention to detail, creation of a very thorough budget and timeline, and working and communicating directly with all the vendors. I am forever grateful that she made such a special day so easy for everyone involved. She went above and beyond the call of duty. I highly recommend her to anyone getting married with any type of budget.
Melissa
Wedding: 2/1/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
It's hard for me to put into words about Amanda, "Amazing Amanda" about covers it, but I will do my best for this review (she truly deserves it)! As I began the wedding planning process for our daughter Leigh & Brian I knew I would need someone to help out on the day of to coordinate vendor setup, timelines, etc. Amanda was recommended from a friend of our daughter who had worked for her as an assistant in college who told me she was amazing. After an initial coffee meeting with Amanda I booked her services. Amanda provided us all with many fabulous vendor resources to select from. She kept us in touch constantly during our daughter's 6 month engagement...responding to my emails, texts, phone calls, vendor questions, & reaching out with monthly checklists to make sure we were on track. Leigh & Brian chose a unique reception space that needed a lot of detail to turn it into an elegant event space. Amanda helped us select everything down to the last plate and fork, and spotlight on the Cake. The space was magical, it far exceeded anything I had imagined! I could not have been more pleased with how amazing the venue looked...all thanks to Amanda's design & coordination of other vendors. We will forever be grateful to Amanda for her support on the best day of Leigh & Brian's lives. If you think you don't need a coordinator...you do! I'm an organized individual with a CPA background, and the best business decision I have ever made was to hire Amanda of A Swanky Affair! Amanda thank you for making Leigh & Brian's wedding truly amazing. You took all of what Leigh and Brian wanted into account on their big day and helped us make it happen! It was tough getting their decisions on timely things when they were both working 50 hour weeks. Your grace, patience and attention to detail and organization are phenomenal. Yes, "Amazing Amanda" ! That fits the bill! Melissa & Richard Morauer, Cary, NC
Lacey Edwards
Wedding: 1/4/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I thought that I could plan a wedding without a wedding planner while working full time and being in graduate school, but I was totally wrong. Amanda and the Swanky Affair team made everything easy and perfect! We decided to go with the "month-of" planning which was perfect and paid for itself! Amanda coordinated everything with my vendors and made sure they knew the when and the where; all I had to do was find the vendors although she offered great suggestions! She made sure everyone knew where they needed to be for the rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, and day of. Amanda met with us numerous times at our venues and made sure she was aware of everything we wanted. The morning of the wedding, Amanda picked up all the food I ordered for the wedding party. She then came by my house and picked up everything that needed to be at the chapel and the reception; she even brought a steamer and survival kit for the wedding party. Amanda, our caterer, and florist all set up the reception. It was beautiful and exactly how we wanted it. The night went extremely smooth because Amanda had everything so organized. All my husband and I had to do was enjoy the entire day. My family also got to enjoy the day because Amanda did everything! After the wedding, my parents did bring items back to our house, but Amanda had everything packed up for them so it didn't take long at all. Everyone bragged about how amazing the Swanky Affair team was. You all need Amanda by your side; she goes above and beyond what you pay for! I wish I had her by my side every day :)
Zana and Chris
Wedding: 12/22/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Wonderful does not describe Amanda's amazing personality and skills. I cannot say enough about Amanda. She is fantastic!!! From the day that we first met, she just simply got me. It felt as if she had known me since childhood and knew exactly what I would like or dislike. She understood my wedding day vision and maintained that focus all throughout the planning process for our special day. There was in instant connection with Amanda in our initial meeting and our personalities simply clicked well. I walked away from that meeting feeling confident that everything would be well taken care of. My instincts proved right. Not only was everything taken care of well, it was superbly done too. It was perfection to the very last inch of detail as one of our guests described it. We couldn’t have asked for a better Wedding Planner, she knows what she is doing and she is GREAT at it! Friends and family were amazed at how calm we seemed in the planning of our wedding. Amanda made it easy. Actually, she made it better, just exactly how every woman dreams of her wedding to be: nice and smooth. Five stars are not enough to rate Amanda for all the solutions to my never-ending questions, needs, and help that she so quickly always got back to me with. But then again, that's just her amazing professionalism at her core. To make it all better and sweeter, she's super caring and kind. She is the wedding investment that should be on the top of every couple's list. Thank you, Amanda! Zana & Christopher, Raleigh, NC
rachael
Wedding: 11/2/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We hired Amanda for our wedding day coordination & couldn't have been happier. I am a planner, but wanted to not think about or worry about anything on my wedding day and I didn't. Amanda was great even before the wedding, I was able to communicate with her via email and ask her questions about the wedding, venue, recommendations in the area , about 5 months out from the wedding date. When it came down to crunch time , she was on top of everything, she checked over every contract, caught things I would never have noticed (minor misses- nothing major). The wedding day came and she was there and put me and the rest of the bridal party as ease. Amanda had everyone organized, the timeline was executed perfectly! If anything went wrong at the wedding, I didn't know about it because it was taken care of before I could know! It was great having her knowledge and expertise along with her great personality. Amanda felt like an old friend who was at my wedding to get things done, how I wanted without asking! I am so thankful we picked her and I would use her again and highly recommend her! You can't go wrong!
Caroline
Wedding: 10/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Planning a wedding in NC from GA was suppose to be hard. Well, not w/ Amanda! From the moment we started talking on the phone I knew I was in great hands. My ENTIRE planning experience was fun and stress free.. She knows all the right people, knew where to save me money and kept me on track every month on where I needed to spend my time. I want to get married all over again just so I can keep talking on the phone and planning trips to NC to see her. I can not recommend A Swanky Affair enough... my dream wedding became so much more than I ever could have imagines because of Amanda. I can't thank her enough.
ellie
Wedding: 10/12/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had such a wonderful time working with Amanda to plan our wedding! We were planning from MA and DC and couldn't make it down to NC much, but Amanda made the whole process fun, easy, and flawless! She was very responsive and communicated with us via email and phone and met with us in person when we were in town. She had tons of wonderful ideas to make our wedding unique and fit our personalities. She was very helpful in finding local vendors and already had pre-established relationships with many of them. The whole wedding week was completely stress-free as well. The MOB, bridesmaids, and I were also all able to relax (!) on the wedding day as Amanda went out of her way to help make things seamless. I highly recommend Amanda to any future bride- my husband and I often tell people we would rather have no food at the wedding than not have worked with Amanda!
Andrea
Wedding: 8/10/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We hired A Swanky Affair for our day of coordination. Amanda Scott is fantastic! She is incredibly, responsive, professional, and beyond helpful. She thought of everything that I had never even considered. She made our wedding day so seamless and easy for us. All we had to do was have fun and enjoy the best day of our lives and A Swanky Affair took care of all the rest!
Theresa
Wedding: 8/10/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda of A Swanky Affair was the Day of Wedding Coordinator for my daughter's wedding on August 10, 2013. I cannot express enough how valuable her service was! Amanda started her "day-of" service weeks before the wedding, and because of that she was able to find out the limo service we had hired was nowhere to be found. Amanda took care of it immediately by providing us with a reliable, less expensive limo company who we were extremely pleased with. A Swanky Affair was on top of every detail before, during and after the wedding & reception. They were efficient, courteous and well-organized. Their professionalism and reliable service allowed us to enjoy our day and be free of worries. All gifts and items were packed safely into our vehicles, and not one thing was missing. Hiring A Swanky Affair was the smartest thing we could have done. I will use A Swanky Affair for any event I have in the future! Truly a Five-Star Business!
Tara
Wedding: 7/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
When we got engaged in November 2012, we knew 2 things: we wanted to get married soon, and we didn't want to get married in our hometown of Philadelphia. It didn't take us long to settle on a destination - Duke Gardens, on the campus of my alma mater, and a date - July 20. So....how does a couple plan a wedding in Durham from Philadelphia in 9 months time, especially when the bride is a Type-A, control freak? Easy - call Amanda at A Swanky Affair. I knew that I had a lot of moving parts with this wedding (caterer, rentals, florist, cake, photographer, out of town guests, DJ, etc.) and I also knew that I wanted to enjoy the party with my new husband, so a wedding coordinator was essential. When I met Amanda in January, she instantly struck me as professional, organized, and detail oriented. Just the kind of person that I could trust to be on top of things. We hired Amanda to provide day-of coordination services. She took over about a month before the wedding and was a true God-send. She organized all of our vendors, established the timeline for the day, worked with our photographer on the photo schedule and shot list, and basically just ran the show the last few weeks, which kept me from stressing out and driving my fiancé crazy leading up to the wedding! When the big day arrived, many people commented on how calm I seemed. Of course I was calm - I had Amanda! Our wedding was executed flawlessly. Everyone knew where they needed to be and what they needed to do. The day ran exactly according to plan and was absolutely perfect, and I got to act like a guest at my own wedding and truly enjoy the happiest day of my life. For that, I am forever grateful to Amanda. Tara
Tiffany
Wedding: 7/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda is so amazing, she made our wedding look so beautiful. She took care of every single detail & eased so much stress for me. I couldn't have done it without her. I am so happy that I found her. Our wedding guests were so happy with her & kept complimenting her work. I love her personality & amazing ideas. I would recommend her to any Bride looking for a wedding...
Margaret
Wedding: 5/18/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda is fabulous! Our vision for my daughter's wedding day was completely fulfilled and Amanda was key in making that happen. I could not recommend her higher. Having her with us with so reasuring and resulted in a beautiful and personal wedding for a wonderful couple.
Karen
Wedding: 4/27/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda was an invaluable addition to my Daughter's wedding ! Her professionalism and expertise were priceless . It was so nice to be able to relax and enjoy the week before the wedding .
Joy
Wedding: 3/16/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amanda's help with my daughter's wedding proved invaluable as we were planning from quite a distance, were having the ceremony and reception at different locations, and had the potential for weather to disturb the outdoor ceremony. She was warm and friendly and had ideas and answers for every question that arose. Even more importantly, the entire weekend was executed with myself being able to rest and enjoy...knowing that she knew the schedule and details inside/out and would gently but firmly keep everyone on track and calm! We would highly recommend her without hesitation!! Joy
Carly
Wedding: 3/2/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I used Amanda throughout our year-long planning process, and it was the best wedding decision I made! We were planning from out of town and with just a few visits to Durham she made us a beautiful wedding. All of the vendors that Amanda recommended were fantastic as well. Our wedding was so wonderful and everything ran so smoothly. I was actually able to enjoy my day to the fullest thanks to her! I would recommend her a thousand times over!
 
 
Find A Swanky Affair reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used A Swanky Affair for Planners services.