home >  categories >  cakes >  sugarland >  reviews

Sugarland

Services:

Cakes

...because life is sweet
Phone: 919-929-2100 
140 East Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Phone: 919-835-2100 
2031 Cameron St., Raleigh, NC 27605
 
Overall Rating
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.8/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.7/5.0
Professionalism:
4.7/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.7/5.0
Flexibility:
4.8/5.0
 
53 Total Reviews
 
Susie
Wedding: 4/12/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The people at Sugarland were very easy to work with. Everything was clearly specified, and what we had contracted for is exactly what arrived, on time, the day of the wedding. The cake was beautiful, perfectly decorated and absolutely delicious. My daughter had a spring wedding, and the Mimosa cake was a perfect fit - light and citrusy. I felt that the price was very fair for the quality of cake; it was easily the best tasting cake that we had tried (we tried cakes from four bakeries). The cake the day of the wedding was just as fresh and delicious.
Delaina
Wedding: 1/31/14
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My husband and I wanted something different, unique, and extremely yummy for our wedding. We did the small gelato bar with four flavors, which worked out perfect because everyone got to choose. I got to pick my favorite, my husband picked his, my mother picked hers, and we all agreed on the last - everyone was happy! We also did cake shooters, which were the perfect size pairing with the gelato. It was just enough to give everyone the taste and style of "cake and ice cream" on a much fancier scale! We did two different flavors for the shooters, chocolate and Casey's cake. Sugarland also did a single layer round for us to cut at the reception and custom-matched the design on our invitations. Everything was delicious and beautiful; our guests raved! I did think it ended up being a little but expensive - we went slightly over budget in this area, but it was very, very good, so worth it!
Kelsey
Wedding: 12/7/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I worked with A Southern Soiree and Sugarland came highly recommended by them. My wedding planner and I went to Sugarland in Raleigh for a cake tasting and had an absolute blast! The girls at Sugarland brought out 15 different cupcakes along with coffee and other goodies - I was immediately sold on them! They worked so well with me and my husband the whole time we were wedding planning. At the final meeting I completely changed my mind and changed the design of my cake! Sugarland was more than accommodating with the changes and my cake turned out perfectly. After shopping around other wedding cake bakeries, none compared to Sugarland. I still have guests from the wedding raving about how delicious and beautiful our cake turned out! I can't wait for our one year anniversary because Sugarland is going to remake us the top tier of our cake to...
Olivia
Wedding: 10/18/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our Sugarland wedding cake was amazing!! It was absolutely delicious and gorgeous! Everyone raved about how great our cake tasted!
Private User
Wedding: 10/5/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
This is the best wedding cake I have EVER tasted! Everyone at the event commented on it and the cake itself was beautiful. The sales coord was very easy to work with and did a great job taking my muddled thoughts and helping form them into the type of cake I wanted. It was beautiful and delicious!
Private User
Wedding: 10/5/13
1.3 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
2.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
0.5/5.0
Professionalism:
0.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
2.5/5.0
Flexibility:
1.0/5.0
Sugarland was easy to deal with when I signed the contract but closer to the wedding it was horrible. They were difficult to get to respond to emails and extremely disorganized. It was stressful to deal with them. I would expect a more professional company for the amount they charge. While they did provide a yummy product in the end, I would not recommend them.
Sugarland says:
Gosh, we really wish you would have booked a wedding with us. We have great services and would be happy to deliver cupcakes set them up, decorate them with your monogram etc. But, when you specifically tell us you don't want to pay any extra for any of those things, we try to respect your budget. In your case we did what we do for every other regular cupcake order. We baked them, boxed them and had them ready and waiting when you said you wanted to pick them up. To call after the fact and ask for a full refund or " trash us on the online review site" isn't cool. Best wishes for a long and happy marriage :)
Jacinta
Wedding: 9/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Just like a cake should be beautiful and Great Tasting!!
Elizabeth
Wedding: 9/14/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Sugarland! The staff was very responsive. The cake was both beautiful AND delicious! I've been to too many weddings with mediocre cake. Our guests were thrilled with our delicious chocolate caramel fleur de sel cake. We couldn't be happier!
Marcoita
Wedding: 8/31/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Thank you for making such a lovely cake for my husband and me!! The gelato bar made my wedding extra special!!
Elizabeth
Wedding: 8/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Sugarland is AMAZING! I went in with a picture of a cake that found on pinterest and they were able to make it look even better than the picture. It also tasted amazing. Everyone was telling us it was the best wedding cake they've ever had. We also got our gelato bar from Sugarland which was a HUGE hit! Worth every penny. Hire them!! :)
Marielle
Wedding: 8/24/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Although I left the cake mostly up to my parents since I live out of state, I know they really loved their entire experience with Sugarland. I was really set on having a Tiramisu-flavored wedding cake and Sugarland was more than willing to give it their best shot even though it was not on their list of flavors. If you choose them for your wedding cake, you get a free mini cake within a year of your wedding, so I decided to use it to try out the Tiramisu-flavored cake before making the final decision on flavors before my wedding, which was totally fine with them. Although I didn't choose the Tiramisu flavor after all, I really appreciated being able to try it out for free. We ended up going with Cappuccino Bavarian and Chocolate Raspberry Mousse, which were both so delicious. I also appreciated that it was very easy to correspond with the bakery over email to give them final direction on decor - needless to say, the cake turned out beautiful!
Private User
Wedding: 8/3/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The cake was spectacular and delicious.
Tara
Wedding: 7/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The cake was AWESOME! Not only did it look great, it tasted great. Everyone is still raving about it. I can't wait until our first anniversary when we get to go back to Sugarland and eat more cake (instead of freezing the top layer, Sugarland will provide two fresh cakes - one in each flavor- for our anniversary. How cool is that?!?) Tara
Private User
Wedding: 6/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We are very pleased with Sugarland! The staff was very welcoming and extremely easy to work with! Our wedding guests LOVED our cake! They have many options such as gluten free and vegan available! I wanted by dress to match my cake and they copied a picture we gave them to try to match it up! Great place to work with and to eat cake at! The cake tasting session was very fun too! We even got to try extra that weren't on our plate because I had asked for some more flavors! They were very willing to make that happen. Thanks Sugarland!
Private User
Wedding: 6/8/13
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Overall very pleased. They were friendly and easy to work with and were able to make a completely vegan cake for us. Several guests told us how tasty they thought it was and could not believe it was vegan. I provided a picture and asked to duplicate exactly, when delivered there were a few minor changed (shiny vs matte in areas, texture slightly different) but overall the cake was beautiful, and I was the only one to notice anything "wrong" since I had a picture in mind.
Private User
Wedding: 6/1/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Sugarland made the most beautiful and delicious cake for my wedding! It was totally amazing!
Rachel
Wedding: 5/26/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Sugarland made both the grooms cake and the cake for the wedding. Both cakes were amazing! Not only did they look awesome but they tasted delicious. Everyone was talking about the cakes at both events. I would highly recommend Sugarland to anyone looking for a cake (or cupcakes)
Sugarland says:
Awe! Thanks Rachel. We loved working with you.
Kim
Wedding: 5/26/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was delicious!!!
Anonymous
Wedding: 5/18/13
4.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
My experience with Sugarland was great. The staff was very organized and engaging during the planning and design process. The cupcake set up at the wedding was perfect. There was a minor miscommunication about the location of the cake-topper but it was all fixed before I couldn't even realize what happened. I received rave reviews from several folks at the wedding as to how delicious the cupcakes were too. I would definitely recommend Sugarland to future brides!
Nancy
Wedding: 5/12/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Catering Manager and other employees at Sugarland provided excellent service for a destination wedding and a bride and groom with special dietary needs. My daughter found the combination of a delicious gluten-free cake, beautiful decorations, and transportation and set-up on an island with access only by ferry and golf cart transportation to the reception venue at Sugarland. The Sugarland staff was very flexible with meetings and order changes. The cake decorator was able to incooperate the design from the wedding gown, the touch of the beach, and fresh flowers into a lovely decorated cake for the bohemian beach wedding. It was picture perfect. The transportation and set-up was quite reasonable. Finally, the cake was delicious and enjoyed by all.
 
 
Find Sugarland reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Sugarland for Cakes services.