home >  categories >  cakes >  sugarland >  reviews

Sugarland

Services:

Cakes

...because life is sweet
Phone: 919-929-2100 
140 East Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Phone: 919-835-2100 
2031 Cameron St., Raleigh, NC 27605
 
Overall Rating
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.8/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.6/5.0
Professionalism:
4.6/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.7/5.0
Flexibility:
4.8/5.0
 
62 Total Reviews
 
Private User
Wedding: 8/9/14
4.2 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.5/5.0
Professionalism:
3.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
Sugarland makes delicious cakes. The fondant is fantastic, the fun flavors are to die for, the designs are beautiful, and the cakes are more moist and delicious than the cupcakes you might sample at their stores (the cupcakes usually sit on the refrigerated shelf during the day which dries them out a bit). However, this booking caused unnecessary stress. We attended a separate cupcake tasting as we could not make their tasting day. Between our tasting/quote/contract and the wedding, our paperwork was lost (though not our booking information). We also had to contact Sugarland ourselves to finalize things though they were supposed to call us. We went back and forth with different people in the organization because we were given a new, more expensive quote after sending the same information we had left with them the year before, however after much correspondence the price was readjusted to the initial quote. We were told that the cupcake tasting employee had filled out the forms incorrectly, which should not be the customer's fault, especially as our file initially had all of the information (we sent nothing new and had been told at the time of initial quote that everything was okay with the baker). We also were given a deadline to deliver our cake topper (fine) but were told that if it needed "additional support" that it would cost hundreds of dollars more (not fine; Sugarland had the dimensions, weight, etc. of the cake topper--we had brought it to our tasting so the information could be included in the design process). We found some of the people we interacted with friendly, others not (e.g. not even a "hello" or a "nice to meet you" from the person who took our cake topper that we had corresponded with). In the end our cake was beautiful and tasted amazing though not exactly as we had pictured. Everyone was satisfied with the end result but planning was very stressful; fortunately everything resolved. We recommend, if you can stay on top of...
Victoria
Wedding: 7/5/14
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Sugarland made my wedding cake and cupcakes, and we received nothing but compliments regarding their taste and overall appearance. The cake itself came out beautifully and was everything I'd hoped for, delicious taste but the shape that fondant afforded. I've never tasted actually good fondant icing, but they did something magical there! The only problem we had was about a week and a half before the wedding, where email problems on their end made communication very difficult, and they weren't super responsive with phone calls and getting back to me. But in the end, it's the food that matters, and in that category, they get an A+ for sure.
Thais
Wedding: 6/21/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
First of all, their cakes are delicious. So creamy and flavorful. I had a top cake and cupcakes. They were gorgeous and delicious. They were great to work with, friendly, and accommodating. I highly recommend them.
Sugarland says:
Hi Thais! We're so glad you enjoyed your cupcakes on your special day! Thanks for your sweet words :)
Lauren
Wedding: 5/25/14
4.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
Cake was beautiful and delicious; almost exactly what I wanted.
Sugarland says:
Hi Lauren! We love to hear that you were pleased with the way your cake looked and tasted! Thanks for the feedback!
Kobi
Wedding: 5/24/14
3.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.5/5.0
Professionalism:
3.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
The cupcakes were amazing! Everyone at the wedding raved about the taste. I did have a few hiccups trying to set up everything with Sugarland though. There managers were very nice but It took 3 trips to the store to get the right information on the contract.
Sugarland says:
Hi Kobi! I know you must have felt frustrated trying to get your order right, and I'm sorry it took multiple trips to the store to get it just the way you wanted. I'm thrilled you loved your cupcakes so much though!
Chavi
Wedding: 5/3/14
4.5 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Instead of a wedding cake, we had personalized cupcakes and mini desserts provided by Sugarland. They did an excellent job with the display at the wedding and everything tasted amazing. Our guests went out of their way to tell us how delicious the desserts were. Our only complaint was that months before we had spent a long time tasting and picking out the exact flavors we wanted, but when Sugarland contacted us a few weeks before the wedding to confirm our order they had no record of the flavors we had picked out. Since it was right before the wedding, we were pressed for time and hurriedly picked out some flavors (many of which we weren't given an opportunity to taste again). That added an element of stress that we shouldn't have had to deal with fortunately it all worked since everything tasted great!
Sugarland says:
Hi Chavi! We're so sorry about the mix up! We know wedding planning is stressful and we try not to add to that. We're so happy you liked your desserts and thought they looked and tasted great!
Private User
Wedding: 5/3/14
3.4 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.0/5.0
Professionalism:
3.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
Sugarland provided our wedding cake, and our guests were extremely complimentary about the cake. Truly, that's the most important consideration-- that you have a wonderfully tasting (and looking) cake -- and Sugarland delivered in that department. It looked great and tasted wonderful. That said, of all the vendors we dealt with for our wedding, Sugarland was the one that seemed the least "with it." Our initial meeting with a member of the Chapel Hill staff was very casual and not at all like the tasting experience with other vendors. We were given cupcakes to taste different cake options but not necessarily the options available to us for the wedding cakes. We had a number of questions about those options and the related costs and didn't feel our questions were really answered. We found out later that the answers we had gotten were incorrect or incomplete, and since we didn't receive a detailed agreement, we weren't completely sure what we were agreeing to purchase or the total cost. And, Sugarland cakes are not inexpensive. Of all the cake vendors we considered, they were the most expensive. As we got closer to our wedding date, we did meet with a more senior person to finalize our order. We again felt somewhat rushed through the process, but we at least felt more confident about what we were ordering and that the cake would arrive as promised. And, it did arrive, though late enough that our event planner called to ask if it was coming. I'll reiterate that the cake was great; where Sugarland needs to improve is in their professionalism. There is much room for improvement there.
Stephanie
Wedding: 4/19/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough good things about Sugarland!!! Melissa was great to work with and when I got to the wedding venue, my cake was there and I almost cried. IT was GORGEOUS and exactly what I wanted. I got to bring a piece home and it was as delicious as the day I went for my tasting!!! Thank you Sugarland. I will never buy a cake anywhere else!!!! PERFECTION
Private User
Wedding: 4/19/14
4.5 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.5/5.0
Professionalism:
4.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
Our venue works with Sugarland bakery for a packaged price that "comes" with a cake. We met with Sugarland in Cameron Village on one of their set days for wedding cake tasting. Being they had lots of couples coming in that day, they had pre-plated cakes to sample. When we weren't sold on any of those, they did allow us to sample some other flavors they had in cupcake form. (All of the cakes were delicious though) The main frustration was that I had no forewarning that this would be our tasting and final design meeting in one. So we had to quick make up our mind as to what we wanted for everything. Since I had come with some questions as to what was "included" with our venue package, I had to quick process their answers and come up with a design. I'm the type who doesn't make impulse or quick decisions so this flustered me. But we decided on something simple and when I saw our cake on the wedding day, I loved it. And the couple bites I did get of cake, it was delicious!
Sugarland says:
We're so sorry you felt rushed into making a decision! We typically like to schedule separate meetings for design after cake tastings. At the DoubleTree, they know a lot of their brides come from out of town so they try to set up tasting/design meeting combos. We wish you would have let us known you felt rushed, we're more than happy to accommodate multiple meetings to make sure you get exactly what you want!
Susie
Wedding: 4/12/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The people at Sugarland were very easy to work with. Everything was clearly specified, and what we had contracted for is exactly what arrived, on time, the day of the wedding. The cake was beautiful, perfectly decorated and absolutely delicious. My daughter had a spring wedding, and the Mimosa cake was a perfect fit - light and citrusy. I felt that the price was very fair for the quality of cake; it was easily the best tasting cake that we had tried (we tried cakes from four bakeries). The cake the day of the wedding was just as fresh and delicious.
Delaina
Wedding: 1/31/14
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My husband and I wanted something different, unique, and extremely yummy for our wedding. We did the small gelato bar with four flavors, which worked out perfect because everyone got to choose. I got to pick my favorite, my husband picked his, my mother picked hers, and we all agreed on the last - everyone was happy! We also did cake shooters, which were the perfect size pairing with the gelato. It was just enough to give everyone the taste and style of "cake and ice cream" on a much fancier scale! We did two different flavors for the shooters, chocolate and Casey's cake. Sugarland also did a single layer round for us to cut at the reception and custom-matched the design on our invitations. Everything was delicious and beautiful; our guests raved! I did think it ended up being a little but expensive - we went slightly over budget in this area, but it was very, very good, so worth it!
Kelsey
Wedding: 12/7/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I worked with A Southern Soiree and Sugarland came highly recommended by them. My wedding planner and I went to Sugarland in Raleigh for a cake tasting and had an absolute blast! The girls at Sugarland brought out 15 different cupcakes along with coffee and other goodies - I was immediately sold on them! They worked so well with me and my husband the whole time we were wedding planning. At the final meeting I completely changed my mind and changed the design of my cake! Sugarland was more than accommodating with the changes and my cake turned out perfectly. After shopping around other wedding cake bakeries, none compared to Sugarland. I still have guests from the wedding raving about how delicious and beautiful our cake turned out! I can't wait for our one year anniversary because Sugarland is going to remake us the top tier of our cake to...
Olivia
Wedding: 10/18/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our Sugarland wedding cake was amazing!! It was absolutely delicious and gorgeous! Everyone raved about how great our cake tasted!
Private User
Wedding: 10/5/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
This is the best wedding cake I have EVER tasted! Everyone at the event commented on it and the cake itself was beautiful. The sales coord was very easy to work with and did a great job taking my muddled thoughts and helping form them into the type of cake I wanted. It was beautiful and delicious!
Private User
Wedding: 10/5/13
1.3 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
2.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
0.5/5.0
Professionalism:
0.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
2.5/5.0
Flexibility:
1.0/5.0
Sugarland was easy to deal with when I signed the contract but closer to the wedding it was horrible. They were difficult to get to respond to emails and extremely disorganized. It was stressful to deal with them. I would expect a more professional company for the amount they charge. While they did provide a yummy product in the end, I would not recommend them.
Sugarland says:
Gosh, we really wish you would have booked a wedding with us. We have great services and would be happy to deliver cupcakes set them up, decorate them with your monogram etc. But, when you specifically tell us you don't want to pay any extra for any of those things, we try to respect your budget. In your case we did what we do for every other regular cupcake order. We baked them, boxed them and had them ready and waiting when you said you wanted to pick them up. To call after the fact and ask for a full refund or " trash us on the online review site" isn't cool. Best wishes for a long and happy marriage :)
Jacinta
Wedding: 9/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Just like a cake should be beautiful and Great Tasting!!
Elizabeth
Wedding: 9/14/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Sugarland! The staff was very responsive. The cake was both beautiful AND delicious! I've been to too many weddings with mediocre cake. Our guests were thrilled with our delicious chocolate caramel fleur de sel cake. We couldn't be happier!
Marcoita
Wedding: 8/31/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Thank you for making such a lovely cake for my husband and me!! The gelato bar made my wedding extra special!!
Elizabeth
Wedding: 8/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Sugarland is AMAZING! I went in with a picture of a cake that found on pinterest and they were able to make it look even better than the picture. It also tasted amazing. Everyone was telling us it was the best wedding cake they've ever had. We also got our gelato bar from Sugarland which was a HUGE hit! Worth every penny. Hire them!! :)
Marielle
Wedding: 8/24/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Although I left the cake mostly up to my parents since I live out of state, I know they really loved their entire experience with Sugarland. I was really set on having a Tiramisu-flavored wedding cake and Sugarland was more than willing to give it their best shot even though it was not on their list of flavors. If you choose them for your wedding cake, you get a free mini cake within a year of your wedding, so I decided to use it to try out the Tiramisu-flavored cake before making the final decision on flavors before my wedding, which was totally fine with them. Although I didn't choose the Tiramisu flavor after all, I really appreciated being able to try it out for free. We ended up going with Cappuccino Bavarian and Chocolate Raspberry Mousse, which were both so delicious. I also appreciated that it was very easy to correspond with the bakery over email to give them final direction on decor - needless to say, the cake turned out beautiful!
 
 
Find Sugarland reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Sugarland for Cakes services.