home >  categories >  cakes >  simply scrumptious >  reviews

Simply Scrumptious

Services:

Cakes

Phone: 336-317-6762 
Greensboro, NC 27407
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
33 Total Reviews
 
Teresa
Wedding: 5/24/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie provided nothing short of EXCELLENT service. She assisted us in planning an apporpriate amount of dessert for our wedding, and was eager to work with us to plan for a cake plus panna cotta (which she'd never made before our wedding). She arranged an additional tasting with us to try the panna cotta, and was highly responsive to feedback. The cake and panna cotta were both beautiful, elegant, and absolutely DELICIOUS! As a result of Julie's guidance on estimating amount to provide, we were left with a very reasonably amount of leftovers and little was wasted. Julie also communicated openly about unavoidable matters that had the potential to disrupt her availability for our wedding in a timely and professional manner, allowing us ample time to secure another vendor if we had chosen to do so. We are so thrilled we decided to continue our work with Julie, and she consistently provided responsive, professional, and dedicated service!
Julie
Wedding: 11/30/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
One of the first questions that new brides are asked is "Where are you getting the cake?!" When the bride is a baker, that question comes up even more! The hubs insisted that we make our wedding cake ourselves....so we did! Kinda crazy...I wonder how many other bakers do that? I wouldn't change it for the world though. It was a team effort using mom's recipe...couldn't ask for much more. We even made a last minute decision to cut the cake ourselves, which helped us to chat with each guest as they came to get a piece, which I highly recommend. <3
Megan
Wedding: 10/11/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie was AMAZING! And her cake was so out of this world - everyone loved it :) We ended up going with her because she was connected to our caterer, Sweet Basil's. Both tried to source all their ingredients locally. Julie was affordable and super laid back - we didn't even pay her until the day of the wedding. She always responded to my texts and made arrangements to get together around my schedule and the times that I was in town. Highly recommended!
Private User
Wedding: 9/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie is absolutely wonderful! She was our best and easiest vendor to work with for our wedding. Julie is very professional and responsive, and all of our guests enjoyed the cupcakes she made; most had more than one! She was even kind enough to make a small cake for my grandfather's birthday since it was the same day as our wedding. We cannot speak highly enough of her! Thank you so much, Julie!
Meredith
Wedding: 8/9/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My cake was beautiful, elegant, and delicious! The organic ingredients really made this cake taste amazing.
Ashley
Wedding: 4/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We LOVED working with Julie! We had the cake shots for our reception last month. Our guests loved them as did we. She is very quick at responding to emails, calls and even texts. The cake is absolutely delicious!
Jennifer
Wedding: 10/28/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
There are no words to describe how amazing our deserts were by Simply Scrumptious!!! Julie did our wedding deserts as well as a surprise rehearsal cake for our rehearsal dinner. Julie was so easy to work with and immediately knew what our goals for deserts were for our outdoor fall themed wedding. She also did an amazing job with a Carolina Panthers themed cake she designed as a surprise for my fiancé. My husband and I were munching on the little bit of left over deserts for days after the wedding! All of our guests had nothing but compliments for her deserts! We would definitely recommend her for any type of event.
kmbrewer82
Wedding: 10/6/12
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had an awesome experience with Simply Scrumptious! Julie is so creative and executed all of our ideas perfectly. We had a small wedding cake and tons of mini-desserts. I heard they were awesome! They were gone before I got any!
Carol
Wedding: 10/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie makes the best cakes and pies. I had several people tell me the pecan pie was the best they had ever had. It must have been because by the time I went to have a piece, it was all gone. I did have a piece of her sweet potato pie and it was out of this world. The wedding cake was delicious too....not a piece left.
Mrs_Brown721
Wedding: 7/21/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie was great to work with! The cake was beautiful and tasted great! We had quite a crowd for the cake tasting but Julie was very accomodating and gave great suggestions for our cake design. I cannot wait to order another cake "just because!"
Ashley
Wedding: 7/14/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie was wonderful to work with! So easy and flexible! The cake was absolutely beautiful and tasted amazing! People are constantly asking me who made the cake.
Leslie
Wedding: 6/9/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie is...simply put...UNBELIEVABLE. She was the biggest blessing to us. She did our groom's cake, rehearsal dinner desserts, wedding cake, extra desserts, and even truffles as party favors. She uses local and organic ingredients (except for her Oreo truffle!). Her cakes are so moist, with the most delectable buttercream frostings. The traditional dry/sugary cakes don't even come close to matching Julie's work. She truly cares about her clients and it is abundantly clear she is passionate about what she does. She aims to please, and works so hard to get things done. I told her numerous times to raise her prices! Julie's work was one of our favorite parts of the wedding, and I would promote her as a person, her business, or her desserts with the utmost confidence. You HAVE to try her truffles and carrot cake! :)
Joshua
Wedding: 5/19/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie is incredible! Everyone commented on how amazing the cake tasted!!! We had quite a bit leftover so we definitely stole it and took it home yay!!! Can't wait for our year anniversary cake already!
Becky
Wedding: 5/19/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie was just wonderful. She made sure my daughter's wedding cake was perfect in every way. We truly enjoyed working with Julie and the cake was delicious and absolutely beautiful! We could not have been more pleased.
Anonymous
Wedding: 5/5/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie is so detail oriented. She made sure multiple times that the cake design was exactly what we wanted. We also received special treats made by her during the process! Yum She has a lot of energy and desires to please. She made the decision to purchase her own silver cake stand for the maiden use at our wedding. She is so easy to work with plus her cakes are outstanding and scrumptious.
rxtrace
Wedding: 4/28/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Simply Scrumptious was perfect for our wedding. We did not want a single wedding cake and decided to do a cake and pie dessert table. Their desserts were beautiful and tasty! They arrived on time as promised and were set up perfectly for our decor. They were also willing to fulfill a special request for a guest with a gluten allergy only a month before the event date. We were delighted with the service and products provided by Simply Scrumptious.
jwtrbovich
Wedding: 4/7/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie was a delight to work with and the cake turned out absolutely amazing. She was so helpful in offering so many different options to make a cake that would fit our budget. Very easy going and friendly which is extremely important when dealing with the stress of planning a wedding. My advice, DO NOT put up with bakers who do not show you that your business is a priority to them. Julie demonstrated to me right away that she wanted our business but was not pushy. Highly recommend her and can't wait to have more of her edible delights!
Michelle
Wedding: 3/3/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We enjoyed working with Julie to create our wedding cake, as well as a groom's cake and rehearsal dinner cake. Julie went above and beyond to create just the cake we envisioned. She was quick to respond and flexible with creating the flavors and design we wanted.The cake was beautiful and delicious. We got many rave reviews from people who saw and tasted the cake. We highly recommend Simply Scrumptious.
em
Wedding: 12/10/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We truly had the most beautiful and amazingly delicious wedding cake! Julie has such a gift and we are so thankful for her. We met her at the wedding show at the Greensboro Coliseum and fell in love with her and her cakes! We did do tastings at several bakeries in the area but hands down, Simply Scrumptious is the best!! We loved that she uses organic butter and real ingredients. Once you taste a cake made like this, you will never go back! If all vendors were like Julie, wedding planning would be a breeze:) We are looking forward to ordering a little carrot cake and chocolate truffles for Valentine's Day from her! Thanks again Julie...you are the best:)
Kathy
Wedding: 11/5/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Julie was fantastic! We ordered one of her carrot cakes for our wedding, but with a few alterations (though with all her incredible choices, it was a little tempting to deviate from the plan), and every single request was received with a friendly "no problem!" I had a simple, but pretty specific idea of how I wanted the cake to look, and she totally nailed it. Her communication was great, she was always prompt about getting in touch, and she worked very closely with us to create exactly what we wanted. A few days before the wedding I asked if she could make a separate miniature egg-free cake to accommodate one guest's allergies, and it was at the reception waiting for us (I'm told it was wonderful). We're still receiving compliments on our wedding cake; I've heard more than once, "that was the best carrot cake I've ever had," and even "the best wedding cake I've ever had" (You don't typically expect carrot cake to be such a hit). A number of our guests have asked us for her info; one called me because she had an occasion coming up and was so impressed with our cake that she wanted to get the exact same one. She also did two groom's cakes (coconut and chocolate butter cream) for our rehearsal dinner, and those were phenomenal as well. My husband is a guitarist, so both cakes had fondant guitars with sheet music. I literally gave her song ideas the day of the dinner, and that night the cakes were ready for us at the restaurant (and the sheet music wasn't just some notes randomly drawn on some horizontal lines; she actually looked up the songs and had the correct musical notation!) I tried to go local as much as possible when putting this wedding together, so that was another big point in Julie's favor, but honestly, even without the local ingredient aspect, she'd still have 5 out of 5 stars! I really can't recommend Simply Scrumptious enough, thank you so much Julie!
 
 
Find Simply Scrumptious reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Simply Scrumptious for Cakes services.