home >  categories >  cakes >  a place for cake >  reviews

A Place for Cake

Services:

Cakes

Style Taste and Service
Phone: 336-209-7050 
Oak Ridge, NC 27310
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.8/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
4.9/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.9/5.0
Flexibility:
4.9/5.0
 
15 Total Reviews
 
Private User
Wedding: 10/5/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious
Heather
Wedding: 7/19/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Emily did a beautiful job making two wedding cakes and cupcakes for our outdoor wedding. She was able to adapt our vision and make it a reality, a difficult task with an outdoor wedding in July. We ended up with two beautiful "naked" cakes with a thin buttercream layer and topped with gorgeous, fresh summer berries. Our flavors were Sweet Tea cake with lemon frosting and Strawberry cake with cream cheese frosting. Both were unbelievably delicious!!! All of our guest, big and small, raved over the cakes and cupcakes! I cannot say enough kind words about Emily, herself. Not only were we thrilled with the quality and beauty of our cakes, but thrilled, also, with Emily's kindness, promptness, and professionally! We highly recommend A Place for Cake!
A Place for Cake says:
Thank you Heather, I am so happy you were pleased and I hope we can work together again. Call me for your anniversary.
Private User
Wedding: 6/21/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Wonderful working with a place for cake. Lemon cake was delicious and a reasonable price. Emily kept in touch with me and answered my questions & offered suggestions. She arrived in plenty of time and beautifully placed the flowers on our wedding cake.
Connie
Wedding: 5/31/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend A Place For Cake for any occasion. Emily Colby is very easy to work with and does an outstanding job of listening to your needs and desires. She has great creative ideas and suggestions as well! We had a cake made for our daughters wedding and we received many compliments about the cake, one of which was from our food caterer! You can not go wrong choosing A Place For Cake!
Rebecca
Wedding: 4/26/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our cake was absolutly delicious! It was beautiful and moist. Everyone raved about our cake!
Private User
Wedding: 4/26/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
A Place for Cake is AMAZING!!! Emily is very sweet and easy to work with and great at responding to emails/questions. My fiance and I had a bunch of different ideas of what we'd like our cake to look like and she did an awesome job of combining them and creating a beautiful design. Our cake was gorgeous and just what we'd hoped for! And not only was the cake beautiful, but it was DELICIOUS! I had at least 30 guests make a point to tell me how yummy the cake was. We had lemon with lemon candy filing, strawberry with fresh strawberry cream filling, and chocolate with chocolate mousse filling and all of them were fantastic! My only regret is that I only had the lemon and chocolate. :) In addition to being beautiful and delicious, the cake was also an amazing value. So many wedding cakes out there are overpriced in my opinion, but with A Place for Cake you get a great "bang for your buck."
Jenifer
Wedding: 4/5/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Emily did an amazing job on my dessert table and wedding cake. We have since used her for 2 more additional cakes and I have 3 more cakes ordered with her. Her cakes taste amazing and her artistic talent is out of this world.
Kimberly
Wedding: 2/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Emily from A Place for Cake was very professional & reasonably priced. She made a lemon & red velvet cake for my wedding which was absolutely delicious! She makes her own custard as well. I cannot wait until my anniversary so that I can purchase another cake from her.
Erin
Wedding: 8/17/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
WOW is all I can say!! Emily and her desserts are unbelievable!! I had interviewed and been to several different cake designers and then I found Emily by chance. I set up a appointment for a tasting and she had asked me what flavors I liked prior to the tasting. When I got to the place where her business is she had a beautiful table set up and had made several mini cakes for us to try. the cake literally melted in our mouths. I had asked Emily for suggestions since it was a Summer/Evening wedding I wanted something light but fun and memorable. Emily gave us her suggestions and right there sketch a mock 3 tiered square cake. The drawing was exactly what I was looking for. Emily also suggested to have some additional desserts incase guests did not like cake or we did not have enough cake because I was going with a smaller cake. Emily suggested we have mini cupcakes and each dozen would have a different filling just like our cake. We also had cookies and crèam puffs that were out of this world. I will say I am not a dessert person nor a cake person but I actually ate the wedding cake at our wedding and had a cookie & cream puff the next day and it was just like nothing I had ever tasted before. Emily even came early and completely decorated the dessert table with fresh flowers and all of her display platters were positioned perfectly to showcase the cake and yet still showcase the other desserts. More than half of our guests have asked us for her information so that they can start using her for the parties etc. Hands down the best cake I have ever had and it was a pleasure working with Emily!
Lauren
Wedding: 6/23/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The cake and cupcakes were delicious! It did not taste dry or like it had been sitting in the fridge for long. We had many people comment on how good both were!
lforte
Wedding: 6/16/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful!! When I walked in to the reception it was the first thing I noticed and it was goregous! On top of being pretty, it was delicious!! Everyone loved it!!
North Carolina MOB
Wedding: 5/14/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The staff and service at Oak Ridge Cakes were the best; they responded quickly to questions and changes, and made the experience so very easy! We asked for a very complicated cupcake that looked like a real blue hydrangea bloom for the outdoor wedding; the results were so spectacular that butterflies actually landed on them as if they were real flowers. Needless to say, the crowd was wild about them; the cupcakes were not only beautiful, they were fresh and delicious as well!
Donna
Wedding: 5/14/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
the cup cakes were soooo beautiful! they matched the wedding so perfectly and they TASTED WONDERFUL!!! Oak Ridge Cakes did an OUTSTANDING job on the cup cakes their delivery and set up! i highly recommend them to anyone!!!
Bliszak
Wedding: 8/7/10
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
She makes beautiful cakes, however, my grooms cake was not what I requested and once I saw the cake it was too late to change it.
Anonymous
Wedding: 5/4/13
3.4 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
3.0/5.0
I remember hearing that everyone loved the taste of the cake...it was just too sweet for me as I requested it less sweet. I was told it was pretty too...like most brides i missed a lot of detail but no complaints. I like that next year we get a fresh cake and this time I know it will be less sweet ...perfect....(smile). anniversary cake still too sweet to enjoy it. also customer service was not at its best. I felt as though because she had her payday she felt that she could speak to me any kind of way. I will not refer anyone to her in the future. this time around quality of service 1, responsiveness 1 (late responding to communications), professionalism 1, value 3, and flexibility 1 (because she told me she was doing me a favor by delivering it to me and not charging me when I asked for delivery she just said sure no problem at first. -just rude.
 
 
Find A Place for Cake reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used A Place for Cake for Cakes services.