home >  categories >  photographers >  jim colman photography >  reviews

Jim Colman Photography

Services:

Photographers

Exceptional photography. Affordably priced.
Phone: 919-410-2499 
2404 Carruthers ct, Raleigh, NC 27615
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.9/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
18 Total Reviews
 
Allison
Wedding: 12/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim Colman was the perfect photographer for our wedding. He also photographed our engagement session and my bridal session. Jim was extremely responsive and was more than willing to answer all of my questions in a timely manner! Jim is so personable and he made us feel so comfortable. Our pictures turned out beautiful and Jim did an excellent job at capturing every moment! Jim's work is the perfect mixture of beautiful artistic pictures and personable meaningful pictures. I would recommend Jim to any bride!
Rebecca
Wedding: 7/13/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Jim! My bridal portraits are STUNNING! And I still cannot get over how awesome all the pictures are from our wedding! From the first meeting, Jim was very professional, listened to what we were looking for in a photographer, and tailored a package to meet our needs. My husband and I felt relaxed and confident that our pictures would come out fantastic, and Jim has exceeded all our expectations!
Private User
Wedding: 4/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Fantastic quality and very professional!!!
Anonymous
Wedding: 3/2/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We really enjoyed working with Jim. He knew exactly what we were looking for and have us plenty of options to choose from. He had a great attitude and even dealt with my photographer father. We had a great time and our photos were gorgeous!
Anonymous
Wedding: 10/20/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I moved to the Raleigh area about two years ago (in 2010), found the man of my dreams and got engaged October 1, 2011. When we got engaged we started immediately finding our vendors. I am a huge planner (I'm a teacher) so I knew I wanted to get the "BIG" plans out of the way. One of which being our photographer. We searched around quite a bit, asked for quotes, looked at websites, met for coffee but it wasn't until a week or so later that I tried begging my photographer friend back in WI to come do our wedding in NC. We both knew it wasn't feasible so he recommended Jim to us instead. We met with Jim a few weeks after we were engaged and immediately loved the vibe we got from him. He is professional but laid back and seemed to know an awful lot about the business. We took a while before taking our engagement photographs but afterwards were really pleased with the results. My now husband and I are not very comfortable in front of a camera but Jim did a phenomenal job helping us feel comfortable. When we sent out the proofs to our friends and family members they were RAVING about them. This past weekend we got married and used Jim as our photographer again. He made the day go by so smoothly and worked with me to get some of the shots that are not "traditional" but I wanted to have. I highly recommend Jim to anyone who is looking for a fun, laid back, professional who has a TON of knowledge in the field. Thanks Jim for being amazing. Ben and I love you!
Maxine
Wedding: 9/8/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim Colman was the perfect photographer for our wedding; his attention to small details and the broad picture at the same time is truly admirable. He captured every image I would want and got all our photos to us ONE week after the wedding. The photos are so lovely, my husband and I are really happy with the work he has done. In addition, the coffee table book is made with the best quality, and looks like it will last us forever. We show it to everyone visits our home. Jim has a deep love for his photography and carries himself with great professionalism. His prices were great too! All said and done, with all the choices we made to make our wedding day special, our photographer was the best!
cilla
Wedding: 4/29/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Pictures were beautiful! He really knew what he was doing with his prices being affordable I also loved that we had the rights to all the pictures and they were ready in 2 weeks after the wedding.
HeatherElaine
Wedding: 11/6/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim is great. Nicest guy ever. Craftmanship is excellent. He did my engagement photos and bridal portraits ... beautiful work + great price. Only reason that he did not do the wedding day photography is because he was already booked. Very good with making suggestions about locations and poses. Very flexible. Recommended to me, and now recommended...
Courtney
Wedding: 11/5/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Is it possible to give more than 5 stars? I have been working with Jim for well over a year now on my wedding journey and I couldn't be happier with my choice of photographer. After our engagement in mid-2010, we decided that we would do a destination wedding in Mexico. At that time we had every intention of using the resort photographer, but I still wanted to have engagement pictures made here in Raleigh. My fiance was reluctant to spend the effort and money for engagement pics, but I finally convinced him to give it a shot. I found Jim online while trying to find a photographer that gives you the rights to the pictures, and we emailed back and forth about locations. I have to admit when I first saw Jim at the location, I was a bit unsure. Jim showed up in a "well worn" outfit (if you know what I mean), "fanny pack" full of lenses, and an armful of gear. I should have recognized that as the sign of a professional. Note that all of the other photographers we saw that day at the park were dressed in their preppy best with nothing but a single camera and lens around their necks. When Jim shoots your pictures he manipulates the light like a master with that gear and is constantly climbing up high or laying in the dirt to get the most amazing angles for your photos. After we saw those engagement photos, even my fiance was on board with flying Jim to Mexico to shoot our wedding. Before the wedding in Mexico, Jim shot an amazing bridal portrait session for me. I know it isn't everyone's taste, but we traveled to the warehouse district in downtown Raleigh and got a lot of artsy and urban photos. I was super pleased when Jim understood when I said "I don't want pretty bridal photos". As for Mexico - I could not be happier with my pictures. Jim spent A LOT of time with me during that trip - from scouting out photo locations to the rehearsal to the wedding day to an excursion to Mayan ruins and finally a sunrise Trash the Dress session. Not only did Jim do an amazing job as a photographer, he was a blast to hang out with... I am truly thankful I found Jim because I don't just have photos from my wedding - I have pieces of art. BTW - my initially reluctant fiance (now husband) is so pleased with Jim's work that he wants us to plan yearly photo sessions with Jim. Now ladies - you can imagine what sort of phenomenal work would be required for a man to not only agree to that, but to be the one to actually suggest it.
LisaMei
Wedding: 7/16/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience with Jim Colman. The pictures are absolutely amazing! Jim not only has professionalism and expertise, he is also an artistic director with lots of patience, especially in the chaos of two large families. My cousin, an avid amatuer photographer, came from China for our wedding, and Jim took the time to explain light placements and camera specs. My cousin really enjoyed his first time in the States, and I was so touched Jim worked around a language barrier. The wedding day passes so fast, and my advice to brides is to remember photos hold memories best, a wonderful photographer is one of the most important details!
rosswog
Wedding: 10/16/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I discovered Jim Colman through his presence on a photography forum I frequent. My fiance and I were having trouble finding a local photographer with our wedding date available, so I thought... wouldn't it be great if we could get Jim to fly up here and shoot our wedding? Jim agreed to travel one day early and shoot our rehearsal dinner as well as the wedding. Jim has artistic vision, talent and timeless style, I know our photos will last a lifetime and provide so many wonderful memories throughout the years. I was impressed by Jim's professionalism and personality, all the way from booking his travel arrangements to sharing a few beers and stories at the hotel afterward. The best part - Jim put together an AMAZING wedding album that we will cherish forever. Jim really helped make our wedding the day that we wanted it to be. I would not hesitate to recommend Jim, and in fact I've mentioned his name to a few couples currently planning their weddings.
S
Wedding: 9/5/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We only had to interview one photographer for our wedding and, Jim was it! The shots he took at our wedding and reception are unbelievable! He knows so much about lighting and photography. We were impressed that he could take shots even outside on our wedding night. My husband and I am so happy we found Jim Colman as our Photographer for our special day. Jim and his assistant are truly professionals. If you don't believe me, just check out the photos his blog! The only regret we have is that we didn't make a list of the photo shots we wanted. We were too busy entertaining guests that we didn't get photos of us on the stairwells, of our traditional wedding costumes standing together, and parent photos. He did ask us what we wanted next, but we didn't have a list. Not his fault, but ours :) We will definitely hire him again for future family photos! :D
Julie
Wedding: 6/26/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim Colman is a great photographer and was wonderful to work with. For the quality of photos, his price really is unmatched in the area. He turned our wedding photos around really quickly (we had the disc in hand about a week after our wedding) and he had them up on his blog only about 4 days after our wedding. I would highly recommend booking Jim for your wedding.
Stephanie
Wedding: 6/18/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Jim Colman highly enough! My husband and I searched through dozens of photographers before finding him, and I know we made the right decision. The quality of his photography is absolutely stunning. Every shot is so artistic and in perfect clarity. He is a true artist and it shows in each and every one of the nearly 1,000 photos he took for my engagement session, bridal session, and wedding day. He is also one of the friendliest, most professional, flexible and fun people you could ever work with. He could easily charge thousands more for the quality of work he does. When I was scheduling my engagement and bridal portrait sessions, he was willing to do them on any day and at any time to make sure we got the exact photos I wanted, and he didn't mind at all that I had to reschedule several times due to rain and a wedding dress alteration that wasn't done on time! He was great during the wedding and the reception - he didn't get in people's way at all, yet still managed to take amazing pictures of every momment both big and small. And to top it all off, all of my photos were ready less than a week after the wedding. I could not imagine having to wait months or even a year as is common with other photographers. Hiring Jim was the best wedding decision I made after deciding to marry my husband!
wayne
Wedding: 6/18/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim Colman is well worth anything he charges. No other wedding photographers can come close. My daughter is a meticulous value shopper, and interviewed many candidates before choosing Jim. It was an excellent choice. Jim is a professional cinematographer by current profession, so he knows what he is doing with lighting, backgrounds, focus and cropping, etc. These skills produced shots that all others can only try to emulate. I am only a novice hobby photographer but could recognize and really appreciate the techniques he was using and shots he was trying to capture. His vast experience with shooting weddings allows Jim to use his surroundings to best capture your most important moments. I also asked Jim to capture many special moments and people attending, and he did this to perfection. If you are not yet convinced that Jim is your best choice, call me. Ask Jim for my number. I can change your mind. Thanks, Jim, for preserving this special time in my daughter’s life!
Shawna
Wedding: 5/21/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim did such a great job. He made us feel so relaxed and everyone had fun taking these pictures. Somehow our time schedule for the day changed because our bridal party added a champagne toasts during our scheduled pictures. Jim was able to still get all the pictures done between events. He will make you laugh and let you take whatever kinds of pictures yu choose. He was very responsive throughout my planning process. I am so happy we choose Jim as our photographer!
KafiandYun
Wedding: 10/17/09
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim is a joy to work with!! He made our wedding day a special event. He was able to capture every detail of our special day. I would recommend him to anyone. Thanks Yun and Kafi Hill
Elizabeth
Wedding: 4/24/09
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jim is amazing! Taking pictures was not the best part of my wedding day, because I'm not a person that enjoys being photographed. That being said, Jim made this event relatively painless, and the photos came out better than I ever imagined. I have never looked that good in pictures before! All of our friends and family were extremely impressed with the quality and artistry of the photos, and we've ordered LOTS of prints for our album. All-in-all, I highly recommend Jim Colman. He has a lot of high-tech equipment, and he was able to capture many special moments from our day. I would suggest that you take the time to make sure Jim knows which people you want pictures of, because that was my biggest mistake. I was distracted on my wedding day, and I forgot to ask him to take shots of some important people, which I regret.
 
 
Find Jim Colman Photography reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Jim Colman Photography for Photographers services.