home >  categories >  caterers >  catering by design >  reviews

Catering by Design

Services:

Caterers

Simply Fresh. Simply Fine.
Phone: 919-481-2366 
132 Kilmayne Drive, Cary, NC 27511
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.9/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.9/5.0
Flexibility:
4.9/5.0
 
36 Total Reviews
 
Laura
Wedding: 8/31/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough things about Catering by Design. They were a breeze to work with and always made me feel like I was their most important client. I worked with Amanda, who was so nice and professional throughout all of our meetings. We made several changes to our menu (a few at the last minute!) and she took it all in stride. She always sent us an updated invoice very quickly after we made any changes. I must have asked her a million questions in the last month before the wedding and she answered every one! They also coordinated our linen/flatware/silverware rental using CE rentals, which was great. You just show up, pick the fabric swatches you want, and that's it! Easy peasy. The service was great. They brought food and drinks to my husband and I all night, recognizing how busy we were. We didn't even have to go through the buffet line, they brought a plate to us! The food was great, tasted just as good as at our tastings. We brought in our own alcohol, which they did not charge us for. We had to bring it to the venue ourselves (no big deal) but their bartenders served it up for us with no issues. At the end of the night, they packaged up the leftovers and sent them home with family and friends. Would definitely recommend them to any bride...
Marsha
Wedding: 7/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I am sure everyone who works at Catering by Design are wonderful but Kelly is a doll. Her infectious joy is such a pleasure to work with. Having worked along side Catering by Design many times I can tell you they are professional setting up, they are efficient and the food is delicious. I am always pleased when I get to work with them. After all MEWS Designs and Catering by Design make a good team, designing together to give you the perfect day.
Private User
Wedding: 7/5/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about this caterer! We had several really good tastings, but they won us over with their flavorful food, professionalism, and decor. Our wedding coordinator, Stuart, was absolutely fantastic. He always responded quickly to emails and was responsive to our every need. He helped us with rentals and the alcohol order. At the wedding, CBD set everything up quickly and efficiently, and it looked fabulous. All of the staff were extremely professional and responsive to our every need. I highly recommend them.
Shelley
Wedding: 6/28/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering by Design were amazing for our wedding! They were VERY affordable - the lowest price among all the caterers we looked into. In addition, the food was awesome! Several guests came up to us and commented on how good the food was. The bartender was very quick and professional, as was the rest of the waitstaff. They were very attentive to not only the bride and groom but also to all of our guests. Throw in a free cake cutting service and that seals the deal! While there was a slight problem with our cake (not made by them), they were able to make the best of the situation to keep things running smoothly and none of the guests were any wiser. They also arranged all rentals (linens, etc) and took care of all deliveries during setup. They made everything so easy; we would highly recommend them for anyone else looking for a caterer.
Private User
Wedding: 6/21/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering By Design was absolutely the right choice for our wedding reception. The staff was extremely professional and the food was outstanding! I would highly recommend them for any catering needs.
Melissa
Wedding: 5/24/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My experience with Catering by Design was top notch! Planning with Jennifer was effortless. She is a true professional who knows her business, asking questions I never thought about and really making sure she understood my vision. On the day of the wedding, the food was amazing! Even more than that though, the service was so far above and beyond my expectations! The staff was incredibly responsive, helpful, supportive and attentive! When one of my guests accidentally spilled an entire glass of red wine down the front of my gown, it was a member of the staff who knew just what to do! She whisked me down to the end of the hall, where my bridal party stood around me creating a private little area. She gave me a chair and went to work with white wine removing the red wine stain (who knew!?). While she was doing that, other members of the staff took the moment to bring me a lovely plate of food and something to drink, recognizing that I was completely inundated and overwhelmed with the guests that had enthusiastically swarmed me up until that point, making it impossible for me to get food (or air!). :) This was just one example of my terrific experiences with Catering By Design. It is this kind of attentiveness that doesn't show up in any contract and while every bride hopes for it, it all too often is not always part of the experience. Family and friends are still marveling about the incredible service and food. I would recommend Catering by Design without reservation to anyone!
Chantel
Wedding: 5/10/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering by design assisted us with our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception. The service was awesome. They went over and beyond to make my wedding a moment of a lifetime. Amanda gave me prompt response and offered many suggestions. We were very pleased with our service!
Beth
Wedding: 2/8/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
"Great wedding ! Even better food!"...the review from my MOH. :-) Catering by Design impressed me from the beginning. I highly recommend Catering by Design. They worked within our budget and the food, service and presentation were top notch. Jen was wonderful to work with while planning the menu and layout and the moment I met Steven (our on-site manager) I knew everything would run smoothly the day of - and they still exceeded my expectations. Every server at the reception was friendly and professional and so attentive. I cannot tell you what a relief it was as a bride to never worry about the catering - everything was perfect.
Sarah
Wedding: 10/12/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I have worked with CBD both personally (for our wedding rehearsal dinner) and professionally at work. Each time they go above and beyond with service and quality. Our rehearsal dinner menu was DELICIOUS and they were even able to bar-tend for us which was an added bonus. Their staff is easy to work with and helped our event to run smoothly.
Private User
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The food we had at our wedding was incredible! I have had food from Catering by Design at multiple events and it never lets me down! The staff and servers were meticulous in making sure my husband and I had everything we needed. It doesn't get any better!
Leslie
Wedding: 3/30/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The appetizers and buffet presented to our guests at our daughter's wedding in March 2013 were excellent. Jen and the staff at Catering by Design could not have been easier to work with throughout the process. The event was planned long distance and they made it so easy! The meal was delicious (the barbeque brisket was outstanding and the crab cake appetizers really taste like Maryland crab!) and we received countless compliments on it. The staff was professional and friendly. We recommend Catering by Design without hesitation.
Anonymous
Wedding: 3/9/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
There's a reason why this caterer has won awards every year. They simply are the best. We interviewed two other companies, and I wished I had not wasted my time. We were quoted more for less at those companies, and they lacked the professionalism that Catering by Design exemplifies. Greg Lewis, Jen and Steven G are to be commended for their superior service. They were available when needed, willing to modify the menu based on tastes, spelled out exactly what was included and not included (and then followed thru to make sure someone was providing the rentals for other vendors). My main request was that I not have to "be in charge" at my daughter's wedding - I wanted them to run the show and not need to ask me questions or have me track them down. Other than being served the butlered appetizers and them confirming with me when I wanted to crowd to begin going through the food line, I can honestly say that I never noticed the servers all night long! They were unobtrusive and cleared tables so smoothly that I never even noticed. They get my highest recommendation and grateful thanks.
Whitney
Wedding: 1/26/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The best! The food was delicious and met every need we could have asked for all within a reasonable price!
Anonymous
Wedding: 10/7/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The food was excellent! A very professional team that worked well with the other vendors. We had a dinner buffet menu and all the food was very tasty!
Anonymous
Wedding: 10/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering By Design catered my wedding October 6, 2012. I booked them fairly early in the process of planning, and I knew right off the bat that I had chosen the right caterer. I was in contact with the owner, Greg Lewis, from the start. Any questions that I had, he answered promptly. He was one of the few vendors that I had, that responded quickly, and always answered every little question I had. As the day approached, I was put in contact with another employee, Jen. She was also amazing. I can honestly say that I love Catering By Design. I had NO PROBLEMS with them at all. We had to make changes to our menu, and I trusted them so much, that I didn't even feel the need to try the different food they put on my menu. THE FOOD! The food was BY FAR the BEST food! Every single person as my wedding loved EVERYTHING! My fiancee and I went to Hawaii on our honeymoon, and had pork at a luau. That pork had NOTHING on Catering By Design. We are already talking about going to their restaurant so that we can have more of their food. Be prepared though. They are pricey. But WELL WORTH IT! I can't say anything bad about them. They will def. work with your budget as well. But I am telling you, meet with them, have them make your menu, and try everything. You will fall in love! I want some of their food right now.. :)
Marie
Wedding: 9/29/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg at Catering by Design was fantastic to work with. He and Jen helped us put together a menu for our wedding that was exactly what we wanted. We had a buffet meal and all of the entrees were delicious. They were very helpful and easy to work with. During the planning process, they were always quick to respond to even the smallest question. We had a small wedding (70 guests) and I felt lost in the shuffle when interviewing some caterers. Catering by Design made us feel like we were their only client and they went out of their way to earn our business. The staff who worked the event were professional and hard working. I would highly recommend Catering by Design.
Anonymous
Wedding: 9/22/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
They were easy to work with, flexible, and experienced. Organizing the event was stress free and we had an opportunity to taste the food before deciding on a menu. We liked that everything was taken care of (plates, napkins, bartending, clean-up, food service) with one vendor. Their service at the event was phenomenal and everyone commented on how kind and tentative the bartenders and service staff were. They went above and beyond to make the event fantastic.
MarissaRobyn
Wedding: 5/19/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg and his team (Chris & Chris) at 'Catering by Design' were amazing! They provided everything from the food to the rentals, dinnerware, and linens and every bit of it was perfection. I had to plan my wedding from another state and Greg was more than willing to meet with me every time I was in town to make sure every question was answered and every detail was covered. Everything they provided was beautiful and I couldnt have asked for a better set-up. They met all of my expectations and my family and I are more than pleased with their services.
Very happy Mother of the Groom
Wedding: 4/21/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
After researching 18 caterers for my son's wedding rehearsal dinner, I chose Catering by Design based on their resonable pricing and my initial meeting w/the owner/executive chef, Greg Lewis, who assisted my son and his fiance in making the numerous choices of food, linens, dishes. I cannot say enough about how professional, thorough, warm and friendly the CBD Team was from beginning to end. Not only did the CBD staff meet all expectations, they went well above. Their execution of setup, serving, break down was so efficient and flawless that I was completely free to enjoy the guests that I was hosting. The prices were reasonable, the food delicious (with the mac & cheese condiment bar being a big hit) and the staff extraordinarily exceptional. I will never need to do research for a caterer again as I have found THE caterer for any future events I may have and will be enthusiastically recommending Catering by Design to anyone and everyone I can.
Samira
Wedding: 4/14/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg and his team were fabulous! The food was great and the service beyond reproach. Greg worked with us at every step to make sure we got exactly what we wanted and could afford. The food was hot! and delicious...
 
 
Find Catering by Design reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Catering by Design for Caterers services.