home >  categories >  caterers >  catering by design >  reviews

Catering by Design

Services:

Caterers

Simply Fresh. Simply Fine.
Phone: 919-481-2366 
132 Kilmayne Drive, Cary, NC 27511
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.9/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.9/5.0
Flexibility:
4.9/5.0
 
47 Total Reviews
 
Bridget
Wedding: 5/16/15
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our food was SO GOOD! The southern bbq is amazing. So many of our guests complimented us on our food. My aunt said it was some of the best wedding food she had ever had. Jen was great to work with and CBD's prices are very reasonable. We did our open bar (beer and wine only--they don't supply liquor) through them as well and it was convenient and extremely well priced. I highly recommend them!
Private User
Wedding: 5/2/15
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasant experience to contact Jen to plan for catering and Steve and his team did a great job on our wedding day! The food is great and the service is supreme.
Kara
Wedding: 4/4/15
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with Catering by Design for our daughter's wedding. During the planning stages, Mindy was insightful, courteous, and pleasant to work with. I appreciated how willing they were to work within our budget. The day of the event the team was fabulous--professional, graciously serving all the guests and especially attentive to the couple and their families. They went above and beyond in their service and were willing to pitch in wherever needed. And the food was delicious! I would highly recommend Catering by Design for your special event.
Kate
Wedding: 4/4/15
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering By Design provided our rehearsal dinner We received many compliments on the food and their service was excellent. They were helpful in so many ways, from the planning to the set up on site, service during the dinner, and clean up afterward. They were very easy to work with and we didn't have any concerns about the dinner at all. I would definitely use them again.
Morgan
Wedding: 1/24/15
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The whole team at Catering By Design was great - and Steven managed everything on site perfectly. The food was delicious and they even brought us out appetizers as we were taking pictures! Great service, great food.
Stephen
Wedding: 11/22/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My wife and I did not have a large budget for catering. We told them our number, and they made us feel like we had given them a number twice as large. The amount of food we received was impressive, and the service was even more remarkable. Their staff were helpful, happy, friendly, and thoughtful. We were extremely pleased with the overall product.
Private User
Wedding: 10/24/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The entire team with Catering By Design (most importantly Jenn and Steven) were essential the stress free wedding reception that we had. They were not only priced well but provided excellent service leading up to the wedding and on the day of. The food (for the foodie's my husband and I are) was also on point. I would definitely recommend them as a service for any catering needs.
Summerlin
Wedding: 10/10/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about how amazing CBD was for our wedding. Jen had amazing response time. Catering was what I had imagined would be the biggest headache, and they made it a breeze. We were able to get essentially everything we wanted within our budget, and the food was incredible -- people are still talking about it! We had a nacho bar, for goodness sakes! They even made things for our tasting that we were interested in that weren't on their regular menu! I have absolutely no regrets. The whole staff was wonderful to work with. I have never been as busy and stressed out as I was the months surrounding my wedding, and I could not have asked for more wonderful, understanding people to handle our wedding. They are just top notch, and they will work with you to make your dreams come true. WE LOVE THEM! I asked Jen how on earth everyone could leave them flawless reviews and she said, "No one here ever says something isn't their job -- the like what they do," and it's the truth. They're just wonderful. From the first inquiry email through the end of the reception, I could not have asked for better.
Laura
Wedding: 8/31/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough things about Catering by Design. They were a breeze to work with and always made me feel like I was their most important client. I worked with Amanda, who was so nice and professional throughout all of our meetings. We made several changes to our menu (a few at the last minute!) and she took it all in stride. She always sent us an updated invoice very quickly after we made any changes. I must have asked her a million questions in the last month before the wedding and she answered every one! They also coordinated our linen/flatware/silverware rental using CE rentals, which was great. You just show up, pick the fabric swatches you want, and that's it! Easy peasy. The service was great. They brought food and drinks to my husband and I all night, recognizing how busy we were. We didn't even have to go through the buffet line, they brought a plate to us! The food was great, tasted just as good as at our tastings. We brought in our own alcohol, which they did not charge us for. We had to bring it to the venue ourselves (no big deal) but their bartenders served it up for us with no issues. At the end of the night, they packaged up the leftovers and sent them home with family and friends. Would definitely recommend them to any bride...
Stacey
Wedding: 8/22/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can't begin to tell you how fantastic Catering By Design is. We had a Luau themed reception and the food was PERFECT! We had everything from chicken and pineapple kabobs to shrimp cocktail to a fruit skewer tree with the best creme I have ever tasted.Oh and do not get me started on the pork lion with the pineapple salsa relish and chicken with the Vanilla sauce, Hawaiian rolls, well I think you get the point.Just perfect. The professionalism and hard work of the staff topped it off. Catering By Design will be our first and only choice for any and all events. Thank you again for a job well done!
Marsha
Wedding: 7/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I am sure everyone who works at Catering by Design are wonderful but Kelly is a doll. Her infectious joy is such a pleasure to work with. Having worked along side Catering by Design many times I can tell you they are professional setting up, they are efficient and the food is delicious. I am always pleased when I get to work with them. After all MEWS Designs and Catering by Design make a good team, designing together to give you the perfect day.
Private User
Wedding: 7/5/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about this caterer! We had several really good tastings, but they won us over with their flavorful food, professionalism, and decor. Our wedding coordinator, Stuart, was absolutely fantastic. He always responded quickly to emails and was responsive to our every need. He helped us with rentals and the alcohol order. At the wedding, CBD set everything up quickly and efficiently, and it looked fabulous. All of the staff were extremely professional and responsive to our every need. I highly recommend them.
Shelley
Wedding: 6/28/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering by Design were amazing for our wedding! They were VERY affordable - the lowest price among all the caterers we looked into. In addition, the food was awesome! Several guests came up to us and commented on how good the food was. The bartender was very quick and professional, as was the rest of the waitstaff. They were very attentive to not only the bride and groom but also to all of our guests. Throw in a free cake cutting service and that seals the deal! While there was a slight problem with our cake (not made by them), they were able to make the best of the situation to keep things running smoothly and none of the guests were any wiser. They also arranged all rentals (linens, etc) and took care of all deliveries during setup. They made everything so easy; we would highly recommend them for anyone else looking for a caterer.
Private User
Wedding: 6/21/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering By Design was absolutely the right choice for our wedding reception. The staff was extremely professional and the food was outstanding! I would highly recommend them for any catering needs.
Melissa
Wedding: 5/24/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My experience with Catering by Design was top notch! Planning with Jennifer was effortless. She is a true professional who knows her business, asking questions I never thought about and really making sure she understood my vision. On the day of the wedding, the food was amazing! Even more than that though, the service was so far above and beyond my expectations! The staff was incredibly responsive, helpful, supportive and attentive! When one of my guests accidentally spilled an entire glass of red wine down the front of my gown, it was a member of the staff who knew just what to do! She whisked me down to the end of the hall, where my bridal party stood around me creating a private little area. She gave me a chair and went to work with white wine removing the red wine stain (who knew!?). While she was doing that, other members of the staff took the moment to bring me a lovely plate of food and something to drink, recognizing that I was completely inundated and overwhelmed with the guests that had enthusiastically swarmed me up until that point, making it impossible for me to get food (or air!). :) This was just one example of my terrific experiences with Catering By Design. It is this kind of attentiveness that doesn't show up in any contract and while every bride hopes for it, it all too often is not always part of the experience. Family and friends are still marveling about the incredible service and food. I would recommend Catering by Design without reservation to anyone!
Chantel
Wedding: 5/10/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering by design assisted us with our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception. The service was awesome. They went over and beyond to make my wedding a moment of a lifetime. Amanda gave me prompt response and offered many suggestions. We were very pleased with our service!
Beth
Wedding: 2/8/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
"Great wedding ! Even better food!"...the review from my MOH. :-) Catering by Design impressed me from the beginning. I highly recommend Catering by Design. They worked within our budget and the food, service and presentation were top notch. Jen was wonderful to work with while planning the menu and layout and the moment I met Steven (our on-site manager) I knew everything would run smoothly the day of - and they still exceeded my expectations. Every server at the reception was friendly and professional and so attentive. I cannot tell you what a relief it was as a bride to never worry about the catering - everything was perfect.
Sarah
Wedding: 10/12/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I have worked with CBD both personally (for our wedding rehearsal dinner) and professionally at work. Each time they go above and beyond with service and quality. Our rehearsal dinner menu was DELICIOUS and they were even able to bar-tend for us which was an added bonus. Their staff is easy to work with and helped our event to run smoothly.
Private User
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The food we had at our wedding was incredible! I have had food from Catering by Design at multiple events and it never lets me down! The staff and servers were meticulous in making sure my husband and I had everything we needed. It doesn't get any better!
Leslie
Wedding: 3/30/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The appetizers and buffet presented to our guests at our daughter's wedding in March 2013 were excellent. Jen and the staff at Catering by Design could not have been easier to work with throughout the process. The event was planned long distance and they made it so easy! The meal was delicious (the barbeque brisket was outstanding and the crab cake appetizers really taste like Maryland crab!) and we received countless compliments on it. The staff was professional and friendly. We recommend Catering by Design without hesitation.
 
 
Find Catering by Design reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Catering by Design for Bridal Shows services.