home >  categories >  caterers >  catering by design >  reviews

Catering by Design

Services:

Caterers

Simply Fresh. Simply Fine.
Phone: 919-481-2366 
132 Kilmayne Drive, Cary, NC 27511
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.9/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.8/5.0
Professionalism:
4.9/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.9/5.0
Flexibility:
4.9/5.0
 
28 Total Reviews
 
Beth
Wedding: 2/8/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
"Great wedding ! Even better food!"...the review from my MOH. :-) Catering by Design impressed me from the beginning. I highly recommend Catering by Design. They worked within our budget and the food, service and presentation were top notch. Jen was wonderful to work with while planning the menu and layout and the moment I met Steven (our on-site manager) I knew everything would run smoothly the day of - and they still exceeded my expectations. Every server at the reception was friendly and professional and so attentive. I cannot tell you what a relief it was as a bride to never worry about the catering - everything was perfect.
Sarah
Wedding: 10/12/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I have worked with CBD both personally (for our wedding rehearsal dinner) and professionally at work. Each time they go above and beyond with service and quality. Our rehearsal dinner menu was DELICIOUS and they were even able to bar-tend for us which was an added bonus. Their staff is easy to work with and helped our event to run smoothly.
Private User
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The food we had at our wedding was incredible! I have had food from Catering by Design at multiple events and it never lets me down! The staff and servers were meticulous in making sure my husband and I had everything we needed. It doesn't get any better!
Leslie
Wedding: 3/30/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The appetizers and buffet presented to our guests at our daughter's wedding in March 2013 were excellent. Jen and the staff at Catering by Design could not have been easier to work with throughout the process. The event was planned long distance and they made it so easy! The meal was delicious (the barbeque brisket was outstanding and the crab cake appetizers really taste like Maryland crab!) and we received countless compliments on it. The staff was professional and friendly. We recommend Catering by Design without hesitation.
Anonymous
Wedding: 3/9/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
There's a reason why this caterer has won awards every year. They simply are the best. We interviewed two other companies, and I wished I had not wasted my time. We were quoted more for less at those companies, and they lacked the professionalism that Catering by Design exemplifies. Greg Lewis, Jen and Steven G are to be commended for their superior service. They were available when needed, willing to modify the menu based on tastes, spelled out exactly what was included and not included (and then followed thru to make sure someone was providing the rentals for other vendors). My main request was that I not have to "be in charge" at my daughter's wedding - I wanted them to run the show and not need to ask me questions or have me track them down. Other than being served the butlered appetizers and them confirming with me when I wanted to crowd to begin going through the food line, I can honestly say that I never noticed the servers all night long! They were unobtrusive and cleared tables so smoothly that I never even noticed. They get my highest recommendation and grateful thanks.
Anonymous
Wedding: 10/7/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The food was excellent! A very professional team that worked well with the other vendors. We had a dinner buffet menu and all the food was very tasty!
Anonymous
Wedding: 10/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering By Design catered my wedding October 6, 2012. I booked them fairly early in the process of planning, and I knew right off the bat that I had chosen the right caterer. I was in contact with the owner, Greg Lewis, from the start. Any questions that I had, he answered promptly. He was one of the few vendors that I had, that responded quickly, and always answered every little question I had. As the day approached, I was put in contact with another employee, Jen. She was also amazing. I can honestly say that I love Catering By Design. I had NO PROBLEMS with them at all. We had to make changes to our menu, and I trusted them so much, that I didn't even feel the need to try the different food they put on my menu. THE FOOD! The food was BY FAR the BEST food! Every single person as my wedding loved EVERYTHING! My fiancee and I went to Hawaii on our honeymoon, and had pork at a luau. That pork had NOTHING on Catering By Design. We are already talking about going to their restaurant so that we can have more of their food. Be prepared though. They are pricey. But WELL WORTH IT! I can't say anything bad about them. They will def. work with your budget as well. But I am telling you, meet with them, have them make your menu, and try everything. You will fall in love! I want some of their food right now.. :)
Marie
Wedding: 9/29/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg at Catering by Design was fantastic to work with. He and Jen helped us put together a menu for our wedding that was exactly what we wanted. We had a buffet meal and all of the entrees were delicious. They were very helpful and easy to work with. During the planning process, they were always quick to respond to even the smallest question. We had a small wedding (70 guests) and I felt lost in the shuffle when interviewing some caterers. Catering by Design made us feel like we were their only client and they went out of their way to earn our business. The staff who worked the event were professional and hard working. I would highly recommend Catering by Design.
Anonymous
Wedding: 9/22/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
They were easy to work with, flexible, and experienced. Organizing the event was stress free and we had an opportunity to taste the food before deciding on a menu. We liked that everything was taken care of (plates, napkins, bartending, clean-up, food service) with one vendor. Their service at the event was phenomenal and everyone commented on how kind and tentative the bartenders and service staff were. They went above and beyond to make the event fantastic.
MarissaRobyn
Wedding: 5/19/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg and his team (Chris & Chris) at 'Catering by Design' were amazing! They provided everything from the food to the rentals, dinnerware, and linens and every bit of it was perfection. I had to plan my wedding from another state and Greg was more than willing to meet with me every time I was in town to make sure every question was answered and every detail was covered. Everything they provided was beautiful and I couldnt have asked for a better set-up. They met all of my expectations and my family and I are more than pleased with their services.
Very happy Mother of the Groom
Wedding: 4/21/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
After researching 18 caterers for my son's wedding rehearsal dinner, I chose Catering by Design based on their resonable pricing and my initial meeting w/the owner/executive chef, Greg Lewis, who assisted my son and his fiance in making the numerous choices of food, linens, dishes. I cannot say enough about how professional, thorough, warm and friendly the CBD Team was from beginning to end. Not only did the CBD staff meet all expectations, they went well above. Their execution of setup, serving, break down was so efficient and flawless that I was completely free to enjoy the guests that I was hosting. The prices were reasonable, the food delicious (with the mac & cheese condiment bar being a big hit) and the staff extraordinarily exceptional. I will never need to do research for a caterer again as I have found THE caterer for any future events I may have and will be enthusiastically recommending Catering by Design to anyone and everyone I can.
Samira
Wedding: 4/14/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg and his team were fabulous! The food was great and the service beyond reproach. Greg worked with us at every step to make sure we got exactly what we wanted and could afford. The food was hot! and delicious...
Debbiet
Wedding: 11/19/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg worked with me and my budget and let me use a dip not listed on the original menu that my fiance and I had sampled at the bridal showcase.
Jennifer
Wedding: 10/1/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Catering by Design did SUCH a great job at our wedding reception. Greg really took a look at my budget and included everything I wanted. He even travelled out of town to take a look at the venue and helped with many last-minute details I had overlooked. The food (and display) was awesome and the staff was so helpful. I would definitely recommend them!
Charlotte
Wedding: 7/23/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg and his staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were pleased with their services. We always received a quick response when we had questions. He was more than willing to change the menu as many times as it took to get exactly what we wanted. The staff at the wedding was friendly, helpful, and made the entire experience wonderful. In addition to that, the food was amazing. I would definitely use Catering by Design again.
Aschenk
Wedding: 6/11/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Great service! Able to work with any budget! Food was awesome
shigaites
Wedding: 5/7/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg and his team did an amazing job meeting our vision. Everyone has raved about the food even weeks after the wedding. I've had a few people tell me they wish they had done an upscale nacho bar at their wedding. You won't be disappointed with these guys!
tmlt
Wedding: 9/6/08
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Greg Lewis is hardest working, most sincere vendor I came across in my entire wedding planning process. He not only creates a fantastic menu, he goes above and beyond to make the bride's day as perfect and stress free as possible. He did both the rehearsal dinner and my reception and both venues loved working with him. He handled all rentals, set-up and take down, his staff was great too. A hurricane was due the day of my outdoor wedding. He helped me create a plan B and assured me all would go well. The plan B was never needed, but I knew I could breathe easy with this guy in my corner.
Michele
Wedding: 6/7/08
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
All of my guests raved about our family style dinner! Catering by Design was so responsive in creating our menu and working to ensure timing for our entire reception was perfect!!
Anonymous
Wedding: 10/12/12
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The staff, chef, and servers for Catering By Design are great to work with. Jenn and Jeff helped me pick out my menu and arranged all changes I decided to make as the big day approached. The food was wonderful. Many guests let me know how much they enjoyed the meal. (I highly recommend the stuffed chicken.) The wait staff were professional, nice, and fun. One of the bartenders even helped teach the Father of the Bride how to dance The Wobble! It was such a fun reception and that was made possible by Catering By Design.
 
 
Find Catering by Design reviews from newlyweds in Raleigh that used Catering by Design for Caterers services.